What iz it to be a feminist, are you?

The moment i open my mouth in some places and say something harsh, they call me a feminist

The moment i stubbornly stick to my decision they call me a feminist

The moment i wear chuncky jewellery and walk in ultra big jhumkas they call me a feminist

If i go with my friends for a late night film, i’m a feminist

If i travel alone for the fun of travelling, i’m a feminist

If i try to concentrate on my career i’m a feminist..

If i make my man cook a meal, i’m a feminist

But nobody calls me a feminist when i choose the general seats instead of those allotted to “ladies” in public transport or public places

Nobody calls me a feminist when i join the mens/general queue to buy tickets at a station or cinema hall

Nobody calls me a feminist when i buy stuff to cook my own food in my own home

Nobody calls me a feminist when I guffaw louder with my girl gangs

Nobody calls me a feminist when i wheel in my own bags..

Nobody calls me a feminist when i laugh at the buffoonery that goes on in the name of feminism

What is to be a feminist?

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

7 thoughts on “What iz it to be a feminist, are you?”

  1. People have mindset that people should do things in defined way but we don’t know who defines these rules and then who so ever don’t adhere to those so called rule they are always a target.

    Like

    1. It is not about rules in the first place, I’d say. but if rules are popular societal norms, then unfollowing/not following them does create a displeasure and make them the target! But what is feminism then.. ?

      Like

Your turn..

