#MondayMusings: Day 1 (whisper tales)

More than any day, today I’d like it to be off. Crampy all over, I’d love to be in bed sleeping, the rains and the chill it brings along does nothing to reduce the cramps or/and that irritating ache all thru the middle of my body since this morning. Many of my girls and I have had this conversation before. We know, since we all go thru these crampy feelings… they are like waves, you see, for a few of us, it is nauseaous, giddy, rolling in pain, for the rest, it seems like a mild headache. The point is, it varies.. We all have an understanding. When she says, it will start soon, it pretty much means get a hot water bag ready, and the bed cosy! But then we’ve also discussed how many of us can’t go and tell our bosses or people we report to about these monthly crampiness. The hospital does not even give a certificate for this breaking down of blood vessels we face, it is a bodyily function recurring every month until a ripe old age for every other woman. Even a common cold fetches a medical certificate.. Things change now with this idea of a period leave. Will it? I hope so. 

I’m ravenously hungry and sleepy in the days that lead to my cycle. Over this weekend when I called my brother and told him, I’m very hungry, he had a kettle boiling on the stove and a meal of some of my comfort food ready. We have grown up together, he knows how I feel during those days, so does the rest of my small family, and a few of my close friends. But then I’ve friends who have been extremely secretive about their cycle, esp to the men in their lives until… With this period leave, it is a secret that opens to the world. “We could even predict ovulation” like a friend and I joked the other day. Now what.. I wonder how many women born and brought in this secretive set up would actually come forth and take up a leave on the day 1. Days which they have been told are taboo, days which restrict them to enter and exit places & rooms, touch and not touch things, not even offer prayers because they have been deemed impure.. Is it a good, is it a revolution .. It may be. Will it open mind and mindsets.. Hope so, too. 

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

4 thoughts on “#MondayMusings: Day 1 (whisper tales)”

  1. Oh dear that’s sad. Since my own experience was painless and short, I never felt the need to stay at home…..but I do understand that you feel kind of lazy and stomach cramps don’t help….. But what’s wrong in telling your boss and taking the day off? Why do you need medical leave? Surely you are entitled to a CL?

    Like

    1. I happily take leave BB, I’ve always been open about my cramps & periods. And my bosses also know.. 😂😂

      But I have met a lot of friends who aren’t, was voicing about this period leave that’s going around .. A few thoughts out loud.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmm… high time for such girls to escape from this taboo thoughts …. no need to hide it or murmur as some whisper tales among the girls group alone, sometimes not even among the girls group…

    Like

Your turn..

