What’s the first memory of you? | Lion (2016) | Dev Patel, Rooney Mara, Nichole Kidman

What’s the first memory of you from long long time ago? I remember the night my brother was born, when my mother came out of the bedroom and told my father, that it is time to go to the hospital. A rainy night in August, it was around 11 or 12, a Saturday night therefore I was awake that late.

After effect of watching the film LION. A boy is lost when he was a child. 25 years later he goes in search of his mother and brother. The trailer is pretty intriguing too.

PS. It takes about 53 minutes for the back story of the film to come to the present and begin the search. The narration is linear, no flash backs. The pace keeps the interest going. and the trauma of a boy who remembers his past brings up an emotional connection. it is quite an adventure. the younger Surru is adorable!

It is always the little memories. In case of Suru (Dev Patel) it is the jalebis/immerthis that rekindles his urgency to get set go and search for his mother and elder brother. I remember a birthday of mine when my maternal uncle gifted me ladoos, 9 ladoos, for my 9th birthday because I was crazy about them, but the size of the ladoo was 5 ladoos put together, I could hardly finish one.

Published by

pinnish!

An Aquarius Woman

8 thoughts on “What’s the first memory of you? | Lion (2016) | Dev Patel, Rooney Mara, Nichole Kidman”

  1. My first memory was when I stuffed a crayon into my nose , I did not tell my parents about it for over a month. 😂😂 Finally when they got to know, they took me to a doc and doc said we need to operate and remove, it’s way inside the nasal cavity. 😂😂 I think this is something I ll remember in my next life too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stuffed a crayon! Haha. One memory I have is a Poppins was stuck in my throat. And my dad caught me by the feet and knocked it out of my mouth! 2 years or so.

      Like

        1. of course, who’s think of looking for it in inside the nose. Good you lived to tell the tale woman 😛 My brother once stuffed a glass bead into his nose!

          Like

  2. A beautiful movie.. I loved it.

    The first memory that I remember is that of the village everything in black and white.. it’s complicated.. me trying to ape my grandpa who was ploughing the fields .. no tractors in those days.. and me doing the same in my little field with my fingers..

    I loved sowing my 3 or 4 grains of wheat … Ok this has made me nostalgic niw….

    Like

Your turn..

