#poemlove – the highwayman

“… One kiss, my bonny sweetheart, I’m after a prize to-night, 

But I shall be back with the yellow gold before the morning light;

Yet, if they press me sharply, and harry me through the day,

Then look for me by moonlight,

         Watch for me by moonlight,

I’ll come to thee by moonlight, though hell should bar the way.”

He rose upright in the stirrups. He scarce could reach her hand,

But she loosened her hair in the casement. His face burnt like a brand

As the black cascade of perfume came tumbling over his breast;

And he kissed its waves in the moonlight,

         (O, sweet black waves in the moonlight!)

Then he tugged at his rein in the moonlight, and galloped away to the west….”

(The Highwayman by Alfred Noyes)

    I think I studied this poem when I was in class IV or V. The first time I remember hearing the word cascade referred to in connection with hair. I remember my English teacher saying, her hair tumbled down like water in a waterfall. That image of cascade has stuck with me ever since. I still love this poem because of the images it conjures up. I guess, I also had an excellent teacher who brought alive the sounds and images of the night in words when the highwayman came up to the old inn door to meet his darling Tess.

Published by

achodi erani

An Aquarius Woman

One thought on “#poemlove – the highwayman”

Your turn..

