Mending Walls and Long Tables

13267774_10153531236301512_2147118622657588709_n

What are your first thoughts about a Wall and a Table, separately. Since I just got out of watching Matt Damon’s The Great Wall, that is the freshest memory of a wall!

Coming to tables, the first thought that crosses my mind are round tables, especially when the group is larger. Square and rectangular tables, the longer they are, I feel, divides the big group into smaller groups making conversation between all of us null.

Walls also reminded me of this poem by Frost they taught me school

“He only says, ‘Good fences make good neighbors.’Spring is the mischief in me, and I wonder If I could put a notion in his head: ‘Why do they make good neighbors? Isn’t it Where there are cows? But here there are no cows. Before I built a wall I’d ask to know What I was walling in or walling out, And to whom I was like to give offense. Something there is that doesn’t love a wall, That wants it down.’ I could say ‘Elves’ to him, But it’s not elves exactly, and I’d rather He said it for himself.” (Robert Frost, Mending Wall)

 

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

8 thoughts on “Mending Walls and Long Tables”

  1. So beautiful and loved the pic of a great table. Walls are not to be fenced and for what instead they need to be broken and sitting on a round table is so good to have joy and friendship amongst friends and family. A kind of comradie is see where the walls are broken off. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That reminds me of hostel days in school having dinner everyone sat together in big long tables …

    Regarding walls well touchy thing both have its pros and cons.. and moreover very political toooo…
    No walls is only good if people on both sides respect it.. although I do believe that we shud all live like humans together and make the world a better place….

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

