A water marked!

I don’t know whether you swim, but if you don’t try it because it’s an experience to be in a space of a pool of just water, so deep that our feet never touches the floor, far away from the walls that our hands don’t reach the railing, all you have is water around, and the only way out of it is to swim your way through and reach the other end patiently, with the presence of mind, your breadth in your control, letting go of yourself completely, believing the water and feel at one with the water around you to enjoy the ride.

Letting go is the most difficult of experiences in life as well, sometimes painful because there are memories, people and things dear to us associated with this letting go. Also, the future is one vast horizon out there and nobody accurately can predict the next minute. At many levels we are scared of the next moment, because it is an unknown world. Hope therefore is what every religion teaches us and asks us to internalize because it is hope that makes us go on and on reducing that fear of tomorrow.

Swimming taught me to let go of myself, my ego, the people around, my life, it taught me to be free and to take charge of myself. It taught me that it is only when I let go and believe in the other, here the water, that I enjoy the activity, otherwise with doubts in our mind, we never ever will swim. Let go of that float, let go of that sinking feeling in your heart; after all, even if you drown the life guards are nearby all geared up to jump in to save you.

The best part of the pool activity other than swimming from end to end and jumping into the water is to float on the back. Place yourself on the water, close your eyes, the ears are already immersed in the water, the peace that consumes us while looking up at the sky, is blissful. Every noise, every light, every thought cut out, we learn to breath normally and we concentrate on keeping the body afloat. That single point focus creates all the difference to coming closer to that elusive peace of mind, concentration, meditation and all variety of terminology the different ‘-isms’ use to attain Shanti….

Published by

achodi erani

An Aquarius Woman

22 thoughts on “A water marked!”

  1. Swimming taught me that life always comes back up and if you don’t you are no better than dead. Similar to you. Letting go is one difficult task and yes letting go requires an unimaginable strength.
    Swimming taught me to trust your teachers because they know what they are doing. And yes, the amazing Shanti it gives one.
    Excellent post Ash.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. well I will probably drown trying to float on my back.. so have not tried that at all, although I know swimming and love the water especially the big open Sea.. rather than a swimming pool.

    Although the way you have put it , I never thought of it that way .. LEtting go .. so hard to do especially for someone like me .. I tend to hang on hang on and hang on .. as much as i possibly can and even when things have gone far beyond my reach I seem to keep trying to Swim hard towards them to grab hold …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When in was learning swimming with a group of my friends I kind of felt that the few of us who was at home with the water and embraced it mastered the skill earlier than the rest! I guess we believed in the water and our instructors.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Very well written!!! and I like the analogy of swimming and letting go in life!!! I for one I’m hydrophobic and even as an adult have tried and failed miserably on several occasions…Your post makes me want to give it one last try…

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

