Learning … 

A few weeks ago I woke up with a wish to eat upma for breakfast. But then I realized I didn’t know how to. I called home and asked MJ after chopping up some of the basic things such as, onions, green chilies, curry leaves required because I had seen my dad cutting them up before he begins to make his tasty upmas. She gave me instructions as to the measurements, how many cups of rava to water, and also how hot the water should be. As is second nature in such a situtaion, I also pinged my foodie crazy bunch on whatsapp, they stood by me at each stage and gave me suggestions as to how to proceed. Finally the upma was done decently well, and I took a selfie with the upma in the wok which one of them named as an upfie. one dish, one word coined. 

This morning I wanted to make the drier version of the wet upma which is how MJ makes it. Rang her up again, pinged my foodie group and we were again at it. But today on a hunch I mixed the rava with chicken stock instead of hot water. 

Learning to make a dish and then experimenting with it. Little pleasures. It has been wonderful journey with the upma so far. 😇😂

wikipedia says.. Upma or Uppuma or Uppittu is a common South Indian and Sri Lankan Tamil breakfast dish, cooked as a thick porridge from dry roasted semolina or coarse rice flour with various seasonings and/or vegetables. 

Daily prompt: Learning 

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

14 thoughts on “Learning … ”

      1. I always like upma with coconut chutney. Not this tharithari upma, but the gooey one. 😀 goes without saying that because coconut is in the chutney, it’s not there in the upma.

        Like

Your turn..

