Water!

“Between your fingers you hold a stone and throw it into flowing water. The effect might not be easy to see. There will be a small ripple where the stone breaks the surface and then a splash, muffled by the rush of the surrounding river…Throw a stone into a lake. The effect will be not only visible but also far more lasting. The stone will disrupt the still waters …If a stone hits a river, the river will treat it as yet another commotion in its already tumultuous course. Nothing unusual. Nothing unmanageable. If a stone hits a lake, however, the lake will never be the same again…”

I get all romantic and mushy when it comes to water, may be water is my that elusive boyfriend who loves me to bits..who makes me ripple, who makes me send out steam.. see how my prose is going to bits 😛 😛 😛

One of the best descriptions I have read about water and that has stayed with me after years is from Anita Nair’s novel the Ladies Coupe. Even if I don’t remember anything else about it, I remember that bit about the chemistry teacher, her crossword loving husband and her rambles on water, water that loves, water that kills, water that breathes, water .. go find the book and read it, much better than me paraphrasing it for you. The above quote is yet another description I have read and re-read many times over, that has stayed with me. It is from the Preface of The Forty Rules of Love.. I must tell you I never went beyond this bit, not even till the end of the preface, but that stone and the ripple remain in my head somewhere, to be recalled anytime anybody brings up anything about water.. I guess water is my one and only love!

Published by

achodi erani

An Aquarius Woman

One thought on “Water!”

Your turn..

