Has anyone stopped you in the middle of the road and asked you something?

….They have asked me “where I got my perm done…. ” and I would say, “Genes :P” (Ya, I’m very bad that way..) They’d ask me the direction to the Saloon.. and I’d send them packing in the direction of my home, because ya that’s where the genes came from ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

Or for some reason I don’t know which one, more than a few people think I am Bengali by birth.. no Malayalee recognizes me as Mal, when I feel am an embodiment of a Malayalee in looks.. the curls, the forehead, the eyes! Bengalis, however, have stopped me in the middle of the road, and in the mess hall, in theatres.. to talk to me, and I’d tell them, if you need me to understand some more, you may have to switch over to English or Hindi! ๐Ÿ˜€

You tell you.. why have people stopped you somewhere to ask what..

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

89 thoughts on “Has anyone stopped you in the middle of the road and asked you something?”

  1. I too feel bengalis and malayalees look similar. Maybe it’s bcos of the common love both the communities hold for fish!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Never happened with me though. I am a Bengali but people do identify me as a North Indian, if not Bong.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. They did not stop me on the road, but many of them have mistaken me for a Punjabi or north Indian though I am from the south. One person even started conversing in Punjabi to me…..looking at my blank expression he then asked me, are you not a Punjabi? ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

            1. I have never moved out of Bangalore, though I have always wanted to. ๐Ÿ˜€
              Its really a very small world. My mother tongue is konkani and a month ago, I got to know another kamath here on wordpress.

              Liked by 2 people

                    1. โค โค
                      See, you were exchanged.for prawn heads and i was found on the river side. So we both were born to ganga maata. Children of the river. ๐Ÿ˜‰

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. No, I stay in the Jungles. The only people who stay in my vicinity are not human beings. ๐Ÿ˜›

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. I don’t know tulu. :S
                      Don’t you have any konkani friends? Except me of course. ๐Ÿ˜›

                      Liked by 1 person

  3. People in south India think I am a north India and start speaking to me in hindi and I i reply in kannada. People from.north India think I am a South Indian.
    So I tell everybody that I am from madhya pradesh., neither north nor south. B-)
    There was this mallu guy in my office who said “Hey I bet you are a mallu, you speak English with mallu accent”.
    People think I am from various states of India.

    Liked by 1 person

          1. Funniest thing is when I speak in my mother tongue, people think I am.shouting at someone. (I mean those who don’t understand my mother tongue)

            Liked by 1 person

            1. That toh happens with me all the time! So once what happened is I was sitting next to this woman and she remarked “you have mixed parentage” I thought back to my dad and mom …and then she says “not that wild, you have a mixed Malayalam.. A mix of two districts ” I was like accha that way.. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜‚

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Hahaha.. ๐Ÿ˜€ people say I don’t like my father or my mother. And to add.to it, when I was a kid my dad said they found me by the river side in a basket.

                Liked by 1 person

                  1. Rofl.. My dad even told me that rekha was my nickname and my real name in the school records was “piglet”. I actually believed it you know. For almost a year I cried almost everyday asking My dad to change my name from.piglet to rekha or something else.

                    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry, pressed send button by.mistake. So continuing it here. ๐Ÿ˜›
      People think I am from various states – either north or south. Aren’t we all just Indians, regardless of whether from.south or north?!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Woh! Patriotic you.. Yes, but I wonder why in the world Malayalees don’t recognize me as Mal! When I’m like this eternal mohanlal fan.. Or an so mal in my every pore and breadth.. May be I’m cosmopolitan ๐Ÿ˜‚

        Like

        1. May be we should go out together. Then people might recognize you as a mallu. I don’t even have those Kangana wala curls nor is my axsend mallu. ๐Ÿ˜‰
          Or may be that guy was just line maroing:-P

          Liked by 1 person

  4. I have been stopped only once, it was during college days, a sweet shorty crossed my way, made me halt, said “aren’t you the one who changes girl friends like people change clothes on a hangar?” “I want to befriend you”

    I was shocked and embarrassed, got normal in a bit. We had stayed friends and in touch till she got married.

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Hindi mein kehte hain na, เคฌเคฆ เค…เคšเฅเค›เคพ เคฌเคฆเคจเคพเคฎ เคฌเฅเคฐเคพ, such is the impact of reputation. Indeed she was a bestie.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I nnever took it very seriously in the beginning , but then once at a Mal function somebody came and asked oh you are Bengali from Kerala? I was like OK there should be something๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

          Liked by 1 person

  5. my face seems very familiar to most people, no wonder, people look at me trying to recollect where they had seen me, but very few people come to me and check my background, I would be a bit worried if someone from the police thought so ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

