Keep it simple..

In my line of work, one thought which we are taught is to complicate things. Because the simple is looked down as the lame! the simple is the common, the simple is passe! Add layers to it, sound pompous, add a few isms. Therefore, instead of saying “I wash dishes in hot water for a living,” I may say “I am working on aqua thermal treatment of ceramics.” At any rate aqua thermal treatment of ceramics sounds more exciting than saying I slog washing dishes in a restaurant πŸ˜€ though both mean the same. The immediate response to this forward (this was one) when it was shared in our little group was, sure the person was a former PhD scholar! who else would try couch a simple act as such πŸ˜›

I get dissed from my supervisor almost everyday, not just me, everybody who is trying to work on a small idea towards their thesis saying, “too simplistic!” There are days when I feel that a PhD supervisor is the most unsatisfied person in the whole wide world! My supervisor’s favorite line is “It is an armchair idea, I can think of it sitting here in 5 minutes” when I would have spend a minimum of 24 hours to come out with it, and written down 5 pages on it explaining it! πŸ˜€ Complicate it with feminism, a little of gender roles, a little of existential philosophy, the nationalism politics, add Modi to it and add ISRO’s new mission to it.. πŸ˜› πŸ˜› Β It is during one such occasion, our Prof’s prof visited the department. In his first lecture in a series during the two weeks, he said, the mantra is keep it simple. All of us supervisees at once turned around and looked at our supervisors with that kind of smirk! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› Imagine our glee, at being understood finally! May be God looked like this Prof! we all began to worship him since. On their part, our Profs stared hard at the emeritus Prof for making their supervisory skills sound and look utter show and hollow! He addressed us “I hope you all will ensure I get out of this room alive for that statement I made. But I do believe in it. You see,” he said, “it is easy to complicate try saying anything in simple terms. Try playing with a single idea just that bare idea stripped of all what you have learned, explain it to a person outside your stream, if it works that I would call the success of your work. It is easy to hide behind complications and complicated jargon, but always difficult to speak in simple term even though the hollow world thinks otherwise.

Keep it simple. Even your everyday thoughts. Just because they are in vogue, just because a lakh of influential people are using and promoting it.”Β That in my terms is bliss..

if you understood none of that above,Β AnonymousΒ has summed it up, very well πŸ˜€

Complicated thoughts complicate my mind in ways I fear what complicated thoughts can do to a complicated mind when it isn’t complicated

β€” The Cryptic Wolf (@Vicky_writes) July 20, 2016

 

Published by

pinnish!

An Aquarius Woman

26 thoughts on “Keep it simple..”

      1. Well if this is your definition of simple, your simple is too complicated that it complicates my mind when I think what your complicated complicated is . Is this simple ?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. hahahaha! haahahaha! haahahah! hahahaaha! Come join the department, you’ll meet more like me, and let’s be verbose in the most complicated tedious manner that keeps the simple out of our banter! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

          Like

            1. See, you actually understood what I said! and they’ll welcome you with open hands since you already come with a certain skillset, the german knowledge.. they will not make you learn it all over again in addition to working on your project on say, German ideology.. πŸ˜€

              Like

    1. Haha! I think when I am a little tough when somebody comes up to me with work.. But that is how it works o guess. My supervisor is quite the thinker she and I are one big team.. 😍

      Like

    1. Exactly, keeping it simple gives less options to beat about the bush and makes it a notch tougher. Therefore the complications .. Thanks BB for the affirmation 😘😍

      Like

Your turn..

