I have no bucket list

Yes, you heard right. I have none because I seem to live mostly in the present. Although the future is a minute, or a few hours or a week away, I still have no wishes piled up to fulfill. If I die today at this moment I will be happy and die without regrets looking forth to newer places, newer people, newer species, different realms.

It is a tad bit difficult to survive in this world when most of the rest of the world walks around with a to do list for the year, for five years…for a life time… there are lists put up on websites as to where else you can travel.. there is a wishlist tab on any site for a future turn around and look back, for the food to eat, or what books to read, there are lists by friends for 30 things before 30 or 25 or 40 or 50.. And while I encountered all these, I realized I’ve been walking around without a list for long…that I’ve been moving about life without actually thinking about milestones as well. I’ve crossed these milestones, celebrated then with zest without a list:)

Like it was by sheer accident I realized that it was 1000th post on the blog a week or two ago. When WP pointed it out, I was thrilled. I made a big deal of it, as you already know.. I love celebrations. But the point is I have never gone looking out for these. They come and I get to know one way or the other, as I will say later, I may be more of a review person..

Initially, I was not aware about the fact that I had neither a list or the need for a bucket large enough to fill it. I realized this when in a book group during last year over Christmas holidays, when I was asked to bring out books from the bucket list and I realized I had no such bucket with me, so no such list! That is the moment I started to ponder over how I choose books to read. I came to the following conclusions. Most often it is a random selection, at other times it is a suggestion from friends or websites, at other times book sites, at other times I receive books as gifts, like I did yesterday 😀, at other times I go on a book shopping binge. There were so many sources from which I chose books. But this just made the problem of the bucket list more complicated. With so many sources of reference, it meant that I had a lot of books in line to read or I wished for!!!! Then why did I not have a bucket list of books? Was I lazy to write to write it all down!!!!

I realized impulsive as I am, I used to find these books somewhere or the other, and some just were forgotten to be remembered later at some point. If I wanted a book I got it then and there if it was available, which erases the possibility of that book going into a list in the bucket 😛 But then I realized this is the pattern I generally follow as a life rule as well. I seem to live with the flow of today, what today is and I also seem to be least bothered about the future, although in my heart I know I will go places, read more books, meet more people and lead an interesting life just as I am at the moment. Or that the definition of future for me may be just a day or a week or a year long and not the next 5 years or 10 or 20 or as long as I will. If that question about where do you see 5 or 10 years from now, earning what.. was put to me, I’d draw a blank there (which is like the oft asked and analysed question) but I know for sure, I’ll be living comfortably some place I love to be, doing what I want to among people I want to spend my time with.

Brings me to believe I am more like a review person I can look back in hindsight and say, ahaa… I have run a marathon or bungee jumped from a certain height or spotted the parrot that tweeted all day long from the tree beside my room or shot a picture of a squirrel on the tree…as opposed to I am determined to spot that parrot that tweets from the tree and such, or shoot that squirrel today😛 Or it could be that I have close associates who have bucket lists and I just hop on to their wish lists when they do…:)

But as is the case with me with everything from as far as I can remember, something comes up when something is over like that. It is that confidence that has got me here so far… I’ve been lucky to have and do whatever I wanted to until this moment and enjoy it to the hilt. I know life will go on like this as is with the same excitement and mirth in my personal, public, career and private life..:):) Knock wood, yes:)

Vaayadi Pennu

Yes, you heard right. I have none because I seem to live mostly in the present. Although the future is a minute, or a few hours or a week away, I still have no wishes piled up to fulfill. If I die today at this moment I will be happy and die without regrets looking forth to newer places, newer people, newer species, different realms.

It is a tad bit difficult to survive in this world when most of the rest of the world walks around with a to do list for the year, for five years…for a life time… there are lists put up on websites as to where else you can travel.. there is a wishlist tab on any site for a future turn around and look back, for the food to eat, or what books to read, there are lists by friends for 30 things before 30…

View original post 929 more words

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

16 thoughts on “I have no bucket list”

  1. Its da-funk way of living… I mean a little is still required nit great great to do list… as a nature lover, i have started working on green solutions in to do lists, thats it..
    Life goes on, even if we dont plan dear.. Great to meet you… Glad to read this !

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ethra plan cheythalum chilappol onnum nadakkilla. Pakshe nammal plan cheyyatha palathum nammude jeevithathilekku arum ariyathe kadannu varum.chilathu nallathayirikkum mattuchilathu pottayavum.jeevitham thikachum unpredictable alle Achu …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve gone on book shopping binges (as you well know), I’ve crossed 1000 posts too (same pinch)… yeah. I guess I too live in the moment. I’ve never felt the need to make a list and tick off things on it 🙂 The bucket is for kicking when the time comes.

      Like

  3. I am non believer of resolutions…what I always wanted to do in past,I am getting opportunity to do it now..so I am getting tempted to write my bucket list and want to see each of it getting striked off….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I gave up on the bucket list ages ago. .my cousin here says that most of the well laid out plans don’t work..
    So just do what you got to do..

    And that’s what I have learned from him. . Do it..
    Life is short why waste time in planning. 😀😀😀

    So hi five … to the plan less. Ways.. After all not having a plan is having a plan in itself….😀😀😀

    Like

  5. Agree with you about life being so uncertain and living in the moment. But more often than not we get so busy with your regular life and just keep doing the things that we ‘have to do’ and not focusing on things that we ‘want to do’. So, a having a bucket list helps to accomplish things that you want to do. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

