Trust!

  1. When I believe that WordPress will not fail me as I put together a post, but save the draft while my wifi is disconnected temporarily – Is that belief not trust?
  2. When I hire a cab/rickshaw to take me to the destination, is that faith in strangers and their vehicles, not trust?
  3. When the pani puri vendor who stands at the corner of the road gives me a plate of delicious street food,.is this habit of buying from the same vendor, not trust?
  4. When I sigh in relief as the mother board of my laptop does not crash after working non stop for 24 hours for days together, is warranty not trust?
  5. When the weather remains cloudy and does not rain until I have run my errands and reach home dry during the monsoons, this hope, not trust?
  6. When you suggest a book/movie to read/watch, are recommendation/review, not trust?
  7. When I ask someone a quick favour like a meaning of a word or a word translation is the act of asking that question itself not trust?
  8. When I follow the directions a stranger on the road gave me, is asking for information, not trust..
  9. Is taking something/someone for granted also not trust?

Inspired from a conversation with a friend. I was just wondering what is it we mean when we say I trust you or I don’t trust you. Tell me what you all think.. 

Write Tribe

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

54 thoughts on “Trust!”

    1. Morning Radhika .. I was (let me be frank with you) very angry with somebody yesterday.. The result was this post 😁😁 I think we trust i n these little little things like for say this comment will go when i hit send.. And then radhika will read it and reply with her own thoughts on it πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜‚

      Like

        1. Depends on my equation with the person! πŸ˜€

          but for me trust does not rest in those three words, it is in little acts between two people. So even if you say, you don’t trust me, but share an idea with me, that’s you trusting me for that moment to react in a particular way.. πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          1. thumbs up…I always argue for the opposite..just opposite of wht I want actually..as you told, those who could be trusted, it will be evidenced in their deeds, even if they deny the same.

            Liked by 1 person

  1. That is a lot of definitions for trust. I’ve always loved this particular one though, “When you throw a baby into the air, he laughs, because he knows you’ll catch him…that’s trust.” πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Generally, trust is broken every time we don’t act the way a person expects from us and that is quite often. Maybe the choice of word for a particular emotion is not always correct. There is a difference between a pebble, stone and a boulder so maybe even when we wish to convey we are hurt we use the word casually. Trust is probably a deeper aspect that cannot be sealed once broken.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey P, Trust is a deeper aspect that is difficult to seal once broken, like crumbled paper, however we iron it out there is always those signs of the wrinkles. I was wondering on the lines of can we live without a form of trust? isn’t that what cements our day to day with anything/anybody .. or am I using the loaded word called trust quite casually?

      Thank you very much for the comment, It actually made me sit up and think.
      (My fav example is kill, murder, assassination, patricide)

      Like

  3. Trust yes, we seem to do it blindly and never realise it! The highest form of trust, I feel, is going to a doctor when you’re sick. Don’t you think so? Something that happens, and we just feel it’s a necessity, not a matter of trust.
    Liked this post πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Going to the doctor, or going under the knife.. blanking out with the anesthesia!
      Exactly what I was trying to get at, many things we do are so blindly trusting without even realizing it, and it goes into the habit or the necessity mode.

      Thank you for stopping by. Just started reading your story!

      Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

