The Green Dosa as I call it, or officially the Pesarattu

As I woke up to fix my breakfast that morning, I saw that the table was already set for two, the heat pot had my favourite green dosas, and the bowl had a ginger tomato and a coconut chutney/dip. My flatmate’s mother was visiting her that week I had an entrance exam. During one of those random courteous conversations, I shared with her my love for the persarattu. And there, on the morning of my exam, she had made just that for breakfast. Overwhelmed with emotion, I hugged her tight and she knew all what I wanted to say! And she replied, “Your favourite food will always give you a boost especially on the day of a crucial exam, get ready and come, we’ll have your green dosas” It felt almost like like MJ was around. (And to think that the flatmate and I never got along πŸ˜€ :P, after or before this morning :D)

wp-1468213772592.jpgPersarattu and I started off on a bad note. It was the second or the third day of my first week on campus, when the hostel mess served it for breakfast. The green of the dosa put me off big time and progressively that entire semester, I never went in the vicinity of the mess hall when it said pesarattu for breakfast. Mine was not an isolated case, it was mutual among many of us who were in Hyderabad the first time. The green dosa as we nicknamed it and the freshly ground ground nut in very chuntey was something we couldn’t acclamatize to. We had a green dosa alarm, even, when one of us would wake up and peep into the mess at 7:15 to see what’s cooking, and run back to ping the rest if it is and think of other options for breakfast! πŸ˜€ That’s when P took me to Chutneys and made me try the Pesarattu thewp-1468213786845.jpgre. What they served was unlike Β the one in the mess. It was a lighter edible green, more of a yellow tint crowning it but it tasted yummy. She is one of those handful of people who can order me to just do something and I (actually) comply happily without questions.

I made pesarattu this morning for breakfast out of the nostalgia for the green dosa, since both the brother and I have been Hyderabadis for a portion of our lives. It is a protein packed meal/snack made from equal amounts of moong dal/green gram and rice soaked overnight, ground together with a small piece of ginger & green chilies (according to the heat). The Recipe

Published by

pinnish!

An Aquarius Woman

49 thoughts on “The Green Dosa as I call it, or officially the Pesarattu”

        1. (I still can’t hold back my laughter) Habits die hard I guess. Yes, a non-veg stew, eggs, sausages some curry with bread/appam/puttu/idiyappam/kappa with fish are staple breakfast meals this side. πŸ™‚ How does your bf looks like .. πŸ˜›

          Liked by 1 person

      1. Goood morning. .
        Typical English weather nice and cloudy rainy.. wet.. πŸ˜€πŸ˜€.. but new week start and lots to do ooooh. ..

        So yipeeee ee ….

        Ps. When I said this is on cards I was trying to say the card that I is being written with all the dishes that YOU are to treat me to…. ha ha ha don’t forget that part. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m a big fan of Pesarattu too! Never liked it earlier. Then the mother in law jazzed it up with onions & curry leaves. Since then it’s been a regular:) your post has tempted me to make some tomorrow πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know it kind of puts us off eating it. I wondered if not for that unappetizing colour I wouldn’t have stayed away from it this long.. Do make and share pics on insta.. would love to see Divya πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

