(I think) I’m in love …

It has been a few hours, I’ve been thinking that it could be love, this what I am going through. The dreams, the desire, the wait, what else could it be…I’m re-reading the lines.. trying to remember the words, musing about it, I have that lost smile that pops up in the middle of other things.. I’m thinking back to that first flush, those giggly girlish way of going about things..  just may be I am lost in love with Adichie when she writes, “Princeton in summer, smelled of nothing … it is the lack of smell that most appealed to her, perhaps because the other American cities she knew smelled distinctly. Philadelphia had that musty scent of history. New Haven smelled of neglect. Baltimore of of brine, and Brooklyn of sun warmed garbage. But Princeton had no smell. She liked taking deep breaths here…” what is this if not love, if I have to even blog about it, and cannot contain my excitement. Coincidentally, the protagonist of the tale is also a blogger. From the time a friend passed on this book, I’ve been glued to it, sharing quotes to my interested & uninterested friends… reading sentences all over again! I’m kind of drunk in the readerly happiness….then a thought takes root..  what could Bombay smell of, would it be different from the way Mumbai smells.. just because they changed the name or is it just a habit that refuses to go away…

Inspired from my current read – Adichie’s Americanah (2013).

ps: in Malayalam, നാറ്റം/nattam (stink) is a bad smell, while  സുഗന്ധം/sughandham (Fragrance) is a good one.. what are the other words that qualify smell in the languages you speak, I would love to know..

Write Tribe

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

38 thoughts on “(I think) I’m in love …”

  1. I know what you mean. Loved that book and it was amazing how I could find bits to identify with despite being so different culturally. I love her writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly, I never related places with their distinctive smells. I’m still wondering what Bombay smells like. But one thing I’m sure of is Mumbai smells very different from Bombay, even though they refer to the same place. Thank you very much for talking back to the post 🙂 Appreciate it much.
      Ash

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh that good a book is it? I am one that is very wary of strange smells, I’d rather stop breathing than smell something yewww! Good smell: Manam, Bad smell: Natham in Tamil, same as Malayalam.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. .. .endearing to me, the descriptions and word pictures she draws… It just pulled me in, like this bit about the smell, the book begins with it, got me to stop, smell around to see whether I felt something, then moved on.

      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The way she begins with Enid Blyton.. and connects to the dangers of that one single story is beautiful. Thank you Prasanna, I watch this piece quite often.. Love that you love it too… Have you read Braithwaite’s Nation Language.. something similar to what she talks about on the dangers of stories from Europe erstwhile colonizers alone.

      Ash

      Like

  3. Indeed, me too have watched it more than once. Hers is a very powerful voice. Has any one Indian soul took that way to project the human pride in him or her, I wonder. Or maybe I haven’t come across one yet.

    Like

Your turn..

