Strangers on the go – 2

To say, I was devastated would be an understatement. I became paralyzed in my head, my nerves went numb, and in one of those moments I was glad my dad called, and I remember telling him, “Dada, my laptop is gone dada, my work is gone.” To which he said, “We’ll find a solution.” And that call, I guess unnumbed me, and I was back, body upright, nerves warmed up, paralysis gone, brains sharpened … determined to do in one hour everything possible to retrieve my unsaved work and the laptop. In an age of the cloud and other backup settings, the unsaved offline work remains unsaved and I had the daunting task of reinventing it.. phew!

 

In a nutshell, I thought my laptop was stolen at the security check conveyor belt at this international airport. I got into a major fight with the airport and airline authorities initially,.. until things drastically changed after an email to the lost and found department. So, @rule 1 if you ever lose something in an airport, stay calm and write down a complaint in a form in their lost and found department, please do it without delay. And when you do, you may just get lucky like I did. Two, their security cameras over the conveyor belts are good for nothing! I couldn’t recognize myself in those images even with a time stamp, three, like in Macbeth, the airport security washed their hands off it cleanly.. but it was me they were dealing with, and I had lost my work…(laptops can be bought, work had to be created again, which is a big pain in every part possible) the fighter cock in me was wide awake. (When I related the adventure to friends, they said, “you don’t need to say you fought, we know you would have, just say, how many were physically hurt with those judo moves” 😀 😀 ) The countdown to boarding was 1 hour. But I had to board the flight without the laptop!

The first things I did during my layover, 8 hours later, was to buy a notebook to make a detailed inventory of the unsaved files in my laptop and send a mail to the lost and found. As I was changing passwords and trying to recollect the maze that my laptop is, my inbox announced, You’ve got mail. It was a reply from the lost and found that changed “the stolen laptop” to “accidentally taken,” to a hope that I will get to see it again, sooner enough, before I head back home.

It was sheer coincidence that the man who had my laptop and I had mailed the lost and found almost at the same time and that he happened to be at the city where I was during the layover. If only had the airport authorities, would have made an announcement before boarding it would have solved a lot of heartache and saved time for the both of us.

He drove down to the airport, returned the laptop to the baggage service. On my part, I had to convince the airline officer at the transit to make that call to baggage service and get me my laptop. He did it finally, and he told me later, “if not for your insistence, I would have stuck by the rules” which reminded me that line from Rekha’s Hindi film Khoobsurat, and a recent Malayalam/Hindi film, Traffic:D The rule was, “ask the person to courier the laptop home! because they could not allow any baggage inside the airport”

Imagine the ridiculousness of it all, the laptop was outside, my flight hadn’t started to board and here this official refused to go pick it up. Which brings me to rule 2 @ airport, people don’t listen to you properly, they have a few set scenarios (the ever so normal ones) they hear the head and tail of your complaint and will give you a standard reply. So, @ rule 3 stay calm (again) and explain to them the situation as clearly as possible and they will relent.. like this man did (It all depends on you)

I will have to thank all these strangers in my section on acknowledgements in my thesis for sure, they saved me a lot of work. there are still a bunch of good people in the world! By that half an hour of wait, all of us at the transit desk had got talking, and they were explaining why they had to behave without mercy to customers.. and many many stories

There is not doubt that the two of us who temporarily lost our laptops that night were lucky. So with luck on my side I stride on, with more faith in humanity.. ready to meet and interact with more strangers. .. 

Daily Prompt: False (Alarm)

food & films

In a nutshell, I thought my laptop was stolen at the security check conveyor belt at an international airport, had a tryst with the airport and airline authorities.. until things drastically changed after an email to the lost and found department. So, @rule 1 if you ever lose something in an airport, please take note that the authorities take no responsibility. They’ll ask you to write down a complaint in a form in their lost and found department, so please do it without delay and stay calm. And when you do, you may just get lucky like I did.

The first things I did during my layover was to buy a notebook to make a detailed inventory of the unsaved files in my laptop and send a mail to the lost and found. And as I was changing passwords and trying to recollect the maze that my laptop is…

View original post 524 more words

Published by

pinnish!

An Aquarius Woman

15 thoughts on “Strangers on the go – 2”

  1. Quite a lucky girl you are Ash. 😉 on a serious note, I too have been a victim of this same thing. In my case my two bags were loaded on a flight other than mine as I went to another city. I literally wore the same piece of clothing for an entire week. 😝

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow.. panic situation always bring something good out of it for sure if we behave calm, finally u got that lesson. My mom on boarding her first flight all by herself showed that panic while waiting for time being she doesn’t get her bags but phew the officials calm her down 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. it was my day to first lose it and then get it back .. or my very crucial 24 hours! otherwise also, I would have written it all over again! big deal, can’t sit brooding over something lost, can I.. life has to move on..

      Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

