Did You Know…

A piece of information I found fascinating a few years ago, somebody pulled up the post over the weekend, so here goes..

Did you know that Troy is on the current world map and it is in Turkey? Ya! Of course, I didn’t, therefore this post😛 You guessed that didn’t you😀 It struck me like a bolt of lightning !! I couldn’t believe it at first😉 and I sat there playing with this new Troy bit and thought aloud:

why I never looked up Troy on the Map ever
why I never felt like
why I never ever ever thought about it being a real city these days, especially in some country on the Continent considering it’s proximity to Greece
Why I related to it only in myths, epics and movies!
I’m shaking my head😐 … and I’m wondering how many such tiny tit-bits have escaped my notice, not been looked up all these years |Things I’ve somehow taken for granted or related to in other ways but not with reality| I can see my empiricists masters frowning at me already !!😛

Let’s skip all that guilt and jump to TROY:)

Don’t you love that city, Troy😀 the very sound of it, it’s just 4 letters long but has pages of history to it, it has fascinated poets, film makers, lovers a whole bunch of them | I love that city.. Helen ran away with Paris to it for Loveeeeeee (that’s popular belief, now) 😀 … and what a shame the Trojan War ensued | Which husband would let go of a spouse, a goddess of a beauty, the mother of his children so easily😉 (Trivia: Hermione was the name of Helen’s only daughter before Rowling cast her as the Potter Pal | there are studies comparing the two girls with the same name) !

You see the place was strategically placed in Asia Minor, a must stop for every merchant ship sailing between Europe and Asia back then. Yes, it was all for money, all for power, all for the command of the Dardanelles Strait| our Helen was a decoy! May be she gave them the reason to plunge into a war, but she was never the cause for it.. Sad😦😉

Would love to visit Troy one day ….. do you think history and myth just ooze out of such places of importance…

Vaayadi Pennu

that Troy is on the current world map and it is in Turkey?

Ya!

Of course, I didn’t, therefore this post 😛 You guessed that didn’t you 😀

It struck me like a bolt of lightning !! I couldn’t believe it at first 😉 and  I sat there playing with this new Troy bit and thought aloud:

  1. why I never looked up Troy on the Map ever
  2. why I never felt like
  3. why I never ever ever thought about it being a real city these days, especially in some country on the Continent considering it’s proximity to Greece
  4. Why I related to it only in myths, epics and movies!

I’m shaking my head 😐 … and I’m wondering how many such tiny tit-bits have escaped my notice, not been looked up all these years |Things I’ve somehow taken for granted or related to in other ways but not with reality| I…

View original post 284 more words

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

2 thoughts on “Did You Know…”

Your turn..

