That which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet … (hamlet)

When DJ says, “let’s go to Ammamma’s house,” in my mind I would be thinking of going to this place, let’s name it, K. However, he would be thinking of going to this place, L.

Confused?😉

This occurs many a time between my dad and me because his Ammamma (grandmother) is my Valiya Ammamma (Great grandmother) in relation. Valiya = Great, Ammamma = Grandmother, Amma = Mother. So when he says, “let’s go to Ammamma’s house,” he is referring to his grandmother’s house, his (mother’s mother). While I would be thinking of the house where my Ammamma (my dad’s mother) stays at K.

Now, technically, I should be calling her Achamma/appanma:P* (Achan/Appan meaning father in Malayalam + amma meaning mother, therefore, achan’s amma is Achamma or father’s mother ) or Daddyma*😛 (because I call my father, Daddy, so his mother would be Daddy+Amma)😛

If you were confused initially, and even more after the rest … well let me tell you, the first confusion happens in real at our home for a split second and then things fall into place. The second one, however, I just made it up for effect😛😛

When DJ wants to go to my Ammamma’s (his mother’s) place he would say let’s go to Mummy’s as that’s the way he addresses her.

.

.

.

Once one of my second cousins dropped by home, and he said that he is heading to Ernakulam. I thought he was going to the city centre for some work because Ernakulam at any time is the name of a place.

To non residents of Kerala, mostly, the term spells confusion… I’ve been often asked where I stay. “Do you stay in Cochin or in Ernakualm?” I started getting confused because of the questions! Cochin or EKM, EKM or Cochin. Geographically, I stay in the city space known by both these names, but as a category marker as part of government jurisdiction I am part of the Municipal Corporation of Cochin in the District of Ernakulam 😛

Getting back to interpreting the cousin, what he actually meant was he was going to his Ammamma’s place which he refers to as Ernakulam. Do I have to explain who Ammamma is again😛 (By now I’m sure you would have rote learnt it :P) His father, DJ’s first cousin, also came along and said, he was headed to Market Road. which is again one of the localities in the city.

What did he mean when he mentioned it, he meant he was heading to the house he grew up in. If we related to places with people who resided there, this father son duo related to places with their location.

I am building up to this.. this house in the featured image.

Every description leads to this one house in the picture.. My Valiya Ammamma’s house, my dad’s Ammamma’s house, our cousin’s Ernakulam and his father’s Market Road refer to one and the same place. Since we have different associations with it, we refer to it differently. I’ve already given you 4 names the 4 of us have for it, there could be more … there are a lot more cousins who have been part of this house..

Well, this is the house my great grandfather bought from a Jewish merchant way back in first decades of the twentieth century… can you make a guess as to what I call him from all the words I have coined above…

It has been 75 years since he passed way. This milestone death anniversary was remembered over this weekend. The big family on the paternal side, grand children, great grand children, great great grand children, and great great great grand children, came together to relive their individual and collective memories related to the man and his house… the same house of the picture😛😛

“that which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet …”

I would say sweet yes, but the sweetness varies… for the rose is the same, but the memories associated with the rose are different:) what say.. what are your associated memories and associations.. would love to hear…

Vaayadi Pennu

When DJ says, “let’s go to Ammamma’s house,” in my mind I would be thinking of going to this place, let’s name it, K. However, he would be thinking of going to this place, L.

Confused? 😉

This occurs many a time between my dad and me because his Ammamma (grandmother) is my Valiya Ammamma (Great grandmother) in relation. Valiya = Great, Ammamma = Grandmother, Amma = Mother. So when he says, “let’s go to Ammamma’s house,”  he is referring to his grandmother’s house, his (mother’s mother). While I would be thinking of the house where my Ammamma (my dad’s mother) stays at K.

Now, technically, I should be calling her Achamma/appanma:P* (Achan/Appan meaning father in Malayalam + amma meaning mother, therefore, achan’s amma is Achamma or father’s mother ) or Daddyma* 😛 (because I call my father, Daddy, so his mother would be Daddy+Amma) 😛

If you were confused…

View original post 590 more words

Published by

achodi erani

An Aquarius Woman

31 thoughts on “That which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet … (hamlet)”

        1. There is a grand piano in the living room .. And these parents and their parents have little details of every nook and corner! When the family gets together even otherwise, my dad has 12 siblings the chair becomes the drums, and a guitar a mouth organ.. It is fun!

          Liked by 2 people

  1. Pin can.you please take a look at the save net neutrality pop up on your page?. I just typed a long comment for this post on my phone but just as I pressed send, net neutrality pop up appeared and my comment is lost :-/. I have noticed it since last few days. Is this something you have added? To be honest it is not very helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anyway, let me quickly retype what I wanted to say: nice post. Beautiful home. It brought so many memories of my ancestral house in my native place. So many fond memories of my childhood and time spent with grandparents.

    I read your post very carefully. Was your great grandfather called valiya acchacchan? :-D. Any prizes for guessing?

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

