#foodtales -What the poha in your plate can tell you!

If dishes could talk, my Maharashtrian friend tells me, Poha will talk non stop about class, caste & the economy. The first reaction to such a statement, that too an assertive statement from a sociology major, sounded very off to me back then. However, by and by when I went back to conversations, I realized what she pointed out was a neat sociological analysis of how food habits and cooking also defined people, just like they are defined by their reading, and taste in music. How we use this information is our responsibility, but it is good to be aware at times that clues about us are hidden in little things like a harmless answer to a question such as what’s for breakfast today?

Let’s say, I had idli this morning. You may not immediately guess where I hail from, but you can if you want to conjure up a picture of a peri-urban/urban setting where a South Indian vendor is comfortable making breakfast profits selling his idlis. This does not automatically imply that if I had noodles for breakfast, my vendor has relocated to India from Shanghai and that I was born into a Chinese family.. 😀 But you wonder, how Holmes shocked you with his analysis of people?

Poha is a popular Maharastrian breakfast/anytime snack. I am not too keen on whether the green chilies and the peanuts talk about economy or what the freshly grated coconut says about the elite niche! It is a useful bit to store at the back of your head, but let’s concentrate on the plate now. I love a plate of poha as it is easy to make, does not require an overnight prep and feels tasty on the tongue. The poha in the picture was part of a bloggers get together at Baruch two years ago when Hitchy bhai (he’s going to stop sharing his bird pictures with me now/or bombard timelines with more and more of his himalayan travels making me jealous!) invited a few of us over on a weekend. And you know for a fact now, when foodie bloggers meet, they click a lot of pictures before they begin to eat 🙂

 

Published by

achodi erani

An Aquarius Woman

62 thoughts on “#foodtales -What the poha in your plate can tell you!”

    1. I thought it has its origins in Maharashtrian.. my friends from here claim it to be theirs. I said anytime snack because they can cook it in jiffy any time you are there homes, like that, need not be just around bf time. 🙂 How’s Delhi today.. Bombay has saw some rains in the morning! breezy

      Liked by 2 people

            1. That’s sounds cryptic. I wonder what the b/r m/d from ich has to say .. 😀 any ideas why they use b/r of all veggies and colour their m/ds and their cutlets pink?

              Like

      1. Rice flakes …Awal..ah..OK…we normally have it as porridge or as a dessert mixed with juggery and coconut garnished with sliced plantain not banana.Poha sounds yummy should give it a try once Ramadan is over.Thanks for the info my dear.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I was shocked when I first visited Madhya Pradesh and fond out tht Poha and Jalebi was on e of the favourite breakfast combos there ……now that over fafda jalebi donest score much …but ya …..I didnt think that people outside of Mahrashtra ate much of poha until that trip .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally get what you are saying, I was shocked to see that sabudana can be used in preps other than Kheers! 😀 that there are dishes made out if, and not just as some sprinkling accessory.. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

