I look forth .. Yes!

I’m not quite the Malayalam reader if you ask me. I have read my share, partly because my mother has a collection of regional literature back home, and the language classes in school, like I did with say, Hindi. But I’m not as fluent with it like I am with the English works.

These days, I find myself bumping into more than a few Malayalee bloggers and a handful of them express their thoughts in Malayalam. Surprisingly, I see myself waiting for two such to update their Mal posts.. πŸ™‚ may be, just may be, it is the right time to get hold of some literature in Malayalam and restart my reading in the language! I’m thinking of starting with one of my favourites, Aithihyamala.. My parents used to read to me every night from this book, even now when I go home, I take the book off the shelf and ask MJ to read me a story πŸ™‚

So, which is your language of choice to read.

picsart_1420022140528
a typical Malayalee non vegetarian meal πŸ™‚
Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

29 thoughts on “I look forth .. Yes!”

  1. English, Malayalam, Marathi and Hindi in that order, though of late, haven’t read much written in the last two..Aithihyamala was gifted to me by a close friend and it is a great book where any story you pick up is a Good Read. I think the english translation is also out for some time now, though I couldn’t grab a copy of it yet..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If I have to stack languages, it would be English, Hindi, Malayalam.. And a little of this and that in the spoken.. Aithihyamala was a gift from my uncle for my 5th birthday, and ever since it has been a companion.. πŸ™‚ yes, I think DC has come out with a translation!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t learnt Malayalam at school, though I picked it up during the summer vacations with my mother tutoring me, and after reading Kalaam novel of M.T Vasudevan, it has become an integral part of my daily reading ever since…

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Punjabi offcourse. . Its such a beautiful language but sadly the image that has been portrayed is so much wrong.

    I mean how can someone not love baba bulle shah. . The heer. ..

    But look what bollywood and punjabi singers themselves have done to this beautiful language…

    Sad sad…Reminds me I have a post I wrote sometime back .. I shud publish it..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s good to read literature in one’s regional language and u know yours have vast pool of commendable writings whose essence get lost in translation. I read few authors like C.S Laxmi, V. M Baseer etc. I read hindi, eng, started off with Kumaoni (Uttrakhand) literature in their respective languages πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shal, how goes today for you.. I cracked up when you said VM Basheer.. sounds so alien to me, because for me (and I hope for malayalees) he is either Basheer, or Vaikom Mohd Basheer.. you just brought back a memory, another famous writer TS Pillai.. we call him Takazhi..

      Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

