Walk me Through your City ..

What if I were to take you on a walking tour around my city, or you to take me on a walk of your city, not the entire of it, but a few of your favourite places what would they be……. So I drew this up like a comic strip, to mark the places where we’ll go, what say, wanna join me …

Recognize my first city from the pic?Β I don’t know why I always go back to thinking of Hyderabad as my own city, is exactly what my happiness quotient remarked when I shared this scribble with her. I don’t call it my second home for nothing.. πŸ™‚ and I feel it is my own place, though I haven’t stayed there for long, but long enough.. I know most of its nooks and corners, so much so that a taxi driver once told me, I could easily take up cab service as a business in here, even without the gps πŸ™‚ Shilarya has shared her version of Hyd at her place. I miss Hyd even more reading her post, especially the chats at Gokul, biscuits at Karachi, the Sun at Tank Bund, food @ Fusion 9 Β and a small outlet of Belgium chocolates on Rd #1 Banjara Hills, Golconda Fort….

City comicIn that case, I’ll take you to the Hiranandani Gardens in Powai.. A place I walk to almost every day from campus to feel the air, wading through the shades of the trees, weeding it out through bus-stops, people and vehicles beside the Powai plaza which holds our any time go to restaurant, Mantra! .. I could just tell you let’s get into Haiko and be inside if the day has already begun πŸ˜‰ for it will hot outside during the day, and the supermarket will be cooler πŸ˜€

If you were coming to Bombay, I would take you down this HN street to the market to a store called Lucky where any kind of stationery is made available for anybody who loves craft. With that in hand, we’ll go straight to Krispy Kreme.. they open around 7:30 in the morning, we can sit at a table, feast on a doughnut, drink a cup of their coffee and look out through their glass windows at a rare view of an empty street on a Sunday morning and a few morning breakfastiers.. open our Lucky parcel and make some thing with the papers and pins. In addition, we can see the doughnuts being made through the see through kitchen. I visit this place in the mornings to gaze at that machine moving doughnuts from one rack to the next. If you are still hungry, we can make a stop at Theo, grab a slice of the walnut cake! if you are hungrier, we get into Meluha for a breakfast buffet, among everything on their menu, I love their bacon omelettes.

image
When Bombay was teased with some rain! (Pic courtesy: a friend)

So, what are your favourite places in your city you gonna walk me through .. πŸ™‚

daily prompt: city

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

89 thoughts on “Walk me Through your City ..”

  1. I never knew you were actually from my city. I’ll take you to my favourite parts- walking through the leafy lanes of Gamdevi, the hurlyburly mess of Bhaji Gulley, the wind blowing through your hair walk down Marine Drive, the quaint museum and gorgeous parkland at Bhau Daji Lad, the bye lanes of Kalbadevi and Pydhonie , the boats bobbing at the Gateway – my romantic old Gothic Mumbai …. All in a day. Are you up for it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You make my heart skip a beat, woman.. I’d like love to walk with you seeing the city through your eyes.

      One of the best walks I did was the lanes of Nariman Point, around 7 in the morning on a rainy day in June. Was accompanying a friend to the consulate, and boy, I had the time of my life walking the lanes, looking up to the buildings, “the wind blowing through my hair down Marine Drive” πŸ˜€ the breakfast vendors around that corner.. it was a lovely morning, a walk in the drizzle.. and breathing in bombay air πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Am less of a wanderer, so if you get a chance to see my city Delhi, i would love to show you chandni chawk, it has wonderful RED FORT, JAMA MASID AND CHURCH even one GURUDWARA AND A SHIV TEMPLE all in one lane plus for eating Parathe vali gali and the rabri faluda here is awesome. No matter what food item you touch here, you’ll fall in love with it for sure, don’t you forget Jalebi .. just ummm… πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha!Delhi.. A City with so many layers of history.. I’m already loving your description, been there, but next time I come visiting, I’m taking up your offer.

      The last time in was in Delhi I was walking around CP, the Balasaheb, and the church .. And every time I used to pass the Parliament building from the other lane, I used to go aw! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Done deal.. I am coming and holding you to statement. .πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

    Now if you were to come here there are so many places to visit.. I promise to take you all over…πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mana hyd is awesome. Why I was not there when you were in hyd. I would have taken you for a walk to general bazar..eat paradise biryani and softy den ice cream.

    I love mumbai. After hyd if i get a chance to leave I will choose mumbai..It’s always awake….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Next time you are there, I can come down.. We’ll call swaram too 😍😘

      Come to Mumbai and stay with me .. πŸ™‚

      I love the general bazaar and that walk on that road where bata is.. That samosa ragada wala at the end of it and what was that Chinese place.. Nanking? πŸ˜‡πŸ˜

      Like

          1. I had been to flower show already and haven’t been this year because It’s over crowded πŸ™‚ I watched flower show live in TV while having a cup of hot coffee πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

                    1. actually none now, I have been to ooty so many times since childhood after my uncle married the aunt, I hear vacation in ooty, I run towards Kanyakumari .. πŸ˜€

                      Like

                    2. okay πŸ™‚ I guess you should have relatives in Kanyakumari too πŸ™‚ So you prefer beaches with wild waves rather than mountain with chill wind πŸ™‚

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. Hahaha! I guess the frequency of ooty trips like 20 odd in a year.. just took away the interest! I wish I had relatives in Kankyakumari.. the hills and waves both are my favs..

                      Like

                    4. Whoever blogger I talk with, feels like they are writer and each one have their own way on expressingπŸ˜ƒ so I tend to get confused πŸ˜ƒ your words sounds like music πŸ‘

                      Liked by 1 person

                    5. That’s true, not just the blog, I think more action happens in the comment section, the thoughts that run through, and how they are expressed as reactions to post is just amazing..! Ty, Sakthi, you have officially made me berry berry happy today πŸ˜€

                      Like

  5. I love to answer this….for Mumbai is my favorite. I spent more than 2 years in Mumbai and I wish to relive that again.
    I want you to take me to Bandra Festival and enjoy performances at Bandra Fort and Bandstand, To Prithvi theatre so that I could enjoy watching a play again, to roam around Hiranandani Market, Early morning and late night walk at Marine Drive, to relish Dahi and Sev Puris at local vendors, to Khao gali…I can go on like this. I wish I could. I love MUMBAI.
    Thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

