What did you have for Breakfast this morning?

I had Parotti πŸ™‚ Parotti is a name I came up with while making my favourite Orottis this morning.

Now, Orottis are a kind of flat bread/rotis made in the central parts of Kerala with rice powder and grated coconut sprinkled lavishly with finely chopped onions, green chilies, curry leaves, ginger~ you name it, you add it. As the folklore goes this is a favourite meal of my grandmother and my mother after they returned home from school. MJ introduced it to us, and we love it too, otherwise why would I be making it. To find a comparison as what it is, it is very similar to the akki roti made in the other parts of the country, especially parts of Karnataka, I would say.

But me being me and I was very lazy this morning, made my orottis plain white minus those chopped little things and grated coconut, and it started to look like how a Pathiri, or thin rice rotis from the Northern parts of Kerala looks and feels like! Pathiri and mutton/chicken curry is a heavenly combinaton. The only problem was I had never made pathiris before today, though I have had it a million times before.

Obviously, I was confused, I could neither call what I made orotti, nor could I call it Pathiri, so I introduced it to the breakfast table and the tummy as Parotti πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Drumrolls please…Β Had it with a side dish of eggs in a tomato onion tight gravy πŸ™‚ the red of the eggs and the white of the parotti looked lovely on the plate, too lovely, I forgot to take a picture for future reference. Plus it is the month of Ramadan, what better way to break the night fast, than with Parotti, I miss my Hyderabadi Haleem though 😦

So you tell me, how did you break your night fast this morning. What was breakfast..

Friday fun with food πŸ™‚

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

72 thoughts on “What did you have for Breakfast this morning?”

                    1. yes.. either we travel or others travel.. the pics end up in my inbox πŸ˜‰ Travelling is an excellent way to… One of the things I do when I go to a new place is run down to their food markets..! and almost always there’ll be someone to befriend who would be willing to share stories.. πŸ™‚

                      Like

                    2. Okay. Our experiences teaches better than others πŸ™‚ Maybe a visual treat and mouth watering with pictures πŸ™‚ You live in food dreaming world πŸ™‚ It’s different kind of experience πŸ™‚

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. Now that gives me an idea for a post! thank you very much..

                      [btw my mother was very interested in the dialogue on “the boring people post” We had a dialogue this morning on that]

                      Like

                    4. I guess you know it better! What makes a person interesting >>> Talk>>>Topic>>Either watch movies or read books or talk with knowledge people or talk with old people>>>Getting knowledge from either of the above will makes us confident to debate with valid point(Case studies).

                      Liked by 1 person

                    5. So you would be knowing what topic makes conversation interesting in the game. It can be any and it’s all about how we carry forward but anyway one point there will be end or getting bored πŸ™‚

                      Liked by 1 person

                    6. I think even if the conversation or the topic is good, a point of boredom comes with overdoing it.. ! so as they say, stop when the music is good.. and they say enchore

                      Like

    1. that’s interesting to know.. Polroti πŸ™‚ We do make flat breads with wheat and coconut, but I can’t remember a name given to it as such.. πŸ™‚ Thanks Shahz for passing on the info..

      ps: lovely piece you have put up at your blog for the prompt open πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Parotti sounded like something exotically Italian to me . I was faintly disppointed to find out what it was. We make a similar kind of pancake in Maharashtra which we call Ghavan .
    And for breakfast today I had to make do with a cheese toast as we ran out of eggs so I couldn’t have my sunny side up

    Like

    1. I was wondering how it be pronouced if it were Italian.. and roll some veggie salad tossed in some lemon and olive oil and serve it to you, making you believe it is continental πŸ˜€ Will add some grated cheese for effect πŸ˜‰

      Like

      1. It will be a wrap! In fact when my kids were little I used to make them Roly Polis which were bhaji wrapped in chapati ( we call the poli in Marathi)and sometimes would jazz it up with a raita dressing . When I actually saw a wrap the first time in my life I was amazed ! Even the tortilla is a take on my Roly poli.

        Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

