An idea of Rain

There were 10 topics. I chose ‘water’ because it was raining outside that morning while the exam was on. I was sitting next to the open window, feeling distracted by the showers outside! I could feel sprays that hit the edge of the wall outside the window splashing past me in a missed attempt to hit elsewhere. The rain wasn’t the only distraction, there were those questions printed on coloured paper. I sat wondering, who in their sane mind could be serious while attempting to solve answers on blue for the multiple choice, yellow for the short answers, and green for the essay! Plus there was the rain outside. I wrote gladly about water, was taunted by my two friends who wrote the exam with me! I think I even quoted the nursery rhyme somewhere to elaborate on the idea of water, as rain! 🙂 The funnier part of all this is, on the first day when Anna (she was to teach the culture of food/music) strode into class and haughtily inquired, who among us wrote on the topic of water for the exam. To our surprise and hers, 3/4 of the class of 18 had chosen water as their topic for the essay on that green sheet, and we were all here part of this class, admitted 😀 😀 in a city where it rarely rains! I don’t know remember whether she shook her head in exasperation, or in mirth.. but she did realize that she had a bunch of water romantics for students to deal with for that semester and the 2 years to come.

I was giving my entrance exams to get into the University that year, Like every year the exams were held in the middle week of June when Cochin city started to soak itself in the rains and started to enjoy its wet days!

Linking to Friday Reflections @ Write Tribe for the prompt “What’s your favourite season of the year?  Write a post about that either in the form of an essay or a creative piece & daily prompt:open. Since chai & pakoras have become inevitable part of the monsoon, linking an earlier post here.. 🙂

Write Tribe

Vaayadi Pennu

Amazon sometimes knows what to do best. and how to do best. Uma in passing suggested a Devdutt book. I took up the recommendation and ordered at Amazon on Saturday night. And early Sunday morning, I receive a call and the book arrives …. It was an ideal weather to laze around, read and rest. After all, a book in hand, chill in the air, a cup of steaming hot tea for a change this week and a few biscuits.. the idea of an ideal rest day emerged. … now, when the sun takes a day off, mortals like me just follow suit.

To all those detractors of the ideal, (me included ;)) these are the times when I feel the ideal exists.. because I am able to live the ideal of a rainy day for a book and weather lover …. 😛

With social media in use for…

View original post 287 more words

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

40 thoughts on “An idea of Rain”

    1. Shal, I think you should write something on the rain.. and tag it to Friday Reflections @ WriteTribe this week. the links are in the post.. what say, let us also know how you feel about your favourite rains.. xx Ash

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I know. Hot pakoras and refreshing rain pitter pattering on the window, that’s a memory I savor too. 🙂 Cutlets, uzhunnu vada, bonda, black coffee… oh, the foodie and the food memories, there would be so many. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. your stories are full of them! I still remember how I stopped at Petrichor once.. and then there were unniappams in another! and I had this great graving.. (midaruthu can’t have unniappams and uzhunnu stuff ) ❤

      Like

                    1. 🙂 planning bangalore begins..! we met last year no cherruka..! and all that food photography at Prav’s bf table with the waffles.. poor you hungry, and us clicking 🙂 😀

                      Like

Your turn..

