Nobody’s child …

image

I tried not to write a post on music & my favourite songs on N today. But whatever I think of I get back to this one song .., a song very close to my heart from my pensieve.

Nobody’s child is about a blind orphan child who tells his tale about how people select him for adoption, want to take him home as their own but when they see he is blind… They always take some other child. The chorus goes like this …

I’m nobody’s child …
nobody wants me…
just like a flower
I’m growing wild …
No mummy’s kisses …
& no daddy’s smiles…
Nobody wants me..
I’m nobody’s child …

The lyrics are evocative of a deep down sorrow in the child who feels abandoned and unwanted… Sad!

This is a song which has given me the greatest of reactions from the audience and my teachers. When MJ decided and readied me with this song for the competition in class 4, I don’t think even she expected me to sing it in such a way where the listeners would assume I was the orphan referred to in the song … 😉 it was an achievement for a class four student the judges had remarked.. 🙂 and let me tell you, it has never worked out the same way again ever .. 😉

But come to think of it, this was the first of two incidents during school days on this topic. In class 8, one of my besties wrote a short story about an orphan in the first person for the school magazine. Many students came, hugged and consoled her after reading it. They assumed she was the orphan in the story. I was immensely delighted for her that day. That was some story she wrote 🙂

Now that I finished writing the post, another memory for N pops up.. One on the film Niram..

 

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

9 thoughts on “Nobody’s child …”

    1. Havnet a clue.. But that song moved the audience, I was surprised at the response.. I mean people coming up to me and hugging me saying it you have a family now.. 🙂 but impactful lyrics and tune..

      Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

