Gracias..

I had to invite a set of friends for a treat so I planned the party and send an sms. This was a few years ago, before whatsapp.

The message read…
My dear BCD, rain or shine, meet you at 1 at XYZ Restaurant

Everybody replied differently but all of them came and we had a merry time. Here are some of the replies..

1. BCD said, Rain or shine .. We meet tomorrow at 1 at XYZ

2. Another friend, CDE, replied with .. If sun shines yes we meet tomorrow at 1. If rain we relocate to my place and meet. How many have you invited?

3. Yet another said.. If rain you pick me up. we meet the rest together at 1 tomorrow

4. And DEF replied with .. “God! You bossy woman! Yes yes yes (I fear repercussions) tomorrow at 1

The rest replied with a yes. A few with a smilie.. 2 or 3 of them returned with calls

I grateful for these replies as they give me hope.. A hope that there are a few more people like me in this world who read carefully and are willing to listen to words rather than make hollow talk ……. It is a pleasure writing and interacting with them because I do I know they’ll read it… (Receiving a reply is a bonus)

Coming back to rain or shine, this was the thank you card I sent to many of my friends this year to whoever took time out and remembered the day. In an age of FB and whatsapp only one person needs to know.. ! The rest whoever does not know will then fall in line with wishes. It depends on that person’s ability to pull in the crowd and plan, if at all.
Personally, all these wishes are bonus because I consider my birthday complete when my innermost circle wishes me; they have wished me since they have known me and will continue to wish until I’m gone.. In addition, I’ve been fortunate to have groups of friends & family, a handful are very quriky and creative, a few more who remember the birthday out of habit even when fb is silent about it! 🙂

image
My birthday thank you card

When someone takes time out to wish, make cards, select gifts and plans surprises it is only natural to say thank you. Gracias.

This post is linked to ABC Wednesdays 18 G. image

©pins n ashes 2016

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

23 thoughts on “Gracias..”

  1. Well happy birthday to you. It sounds like you had a delightful time.
    I do love to get written notes and cards.
    When people take that kind of time it’s very special and sometimes humbling.

    Like

  2. lovely answers…. such invitations are special… and especcially when every invited person says yes to it

    To have such people around you…. thats something to be gratefull for..

    Have a nice ABC-Day // – week
    ♫ M e l ☺ d y ♫ (abc-w-team)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know.. Lovely answers.. It makes me think of other ways the next time when I plan something for the same group 🙂 thanks for stopping by Melody and a wishing you a joyous week ahead.

      Like

  3. My favorite reply was #4…made me smile so Gracias for that!
    We should all remember to say gracias, please and thank you far more often than we probably do.

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

