Baking Memories

image

I used love the marble cake as a child, especially the patterns on the cake as if somebody has taken some liquid chocolate and drawn on the cake. But I did not know how to bake it back then in class 5. So, one day back then I decided to try making a marble cake to surprise my mother for evening snacks. But she woke up from her siesta and came walking into the kitchen as I was pouring the batter into the cake tin. I had a downcast face .. sulking almost because I had not figured out by then how to draw those patterns.

Amma* walks in telepathically, listens to my cake woes and like magic she solves my problem.. She took out some cocoa powder mixed it with a few spoonfuls of cake batter in a smaller bowl and poured it back into the cake tin and began making random patterns on it with a fork. My sulky face had begun to glow again.. 🙂 😀 It glowed even more when she asked me to make some more cocoa batter like she did and draw a few patterns.. 🙂 For a 10 year old, this was pure magic.. I think if she hadn’t stopped me, I would have gone on to make the entire cake into chocolate swirls in the joy of learning how to create my fav marble cake:)

I had to bake two cakes last week and on a hunch mixed cocoa powder to some of the cake batter and drew designs with it inside the tin before setting it to bake, thinking of the first time MJ showed me how to draw patterns.

*Amma is mother in the Malayalam language

#bakingmemories #mummymagic

This post is linked to ABC Wednesday 18 F – Family & Sweet in Photo Theme for Thursday abc18.jpg

pins n ashes

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

15 thoughts on “Baking Memories”

  1. lovely memorie pulled back to the present… wich delicious results to if i may add, i would sure like to taste it …

    Have a nice abc-day / – week
    ♫ M e l ☺ d y ♫ (abc-w-team)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m going through a rather tough phase with my kids and your post makes me I wish I could solve all their problems as easily as your mom solved yours. Sigh! I wish I were supermom.

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

