Smells Fishy

Continuing with my fish eating habits from yesterday’s post.. comes a food memory..

Even though I am born into a fish loving family hailing from a coastal city, I love my meats more, I told you that in yesterday’s post. (Just repeating for effect. If it was poetry this style would have been called refrain, in songs, chorus!).Β My parents realized after they were married to each other that their favourite part of the fish is the head. The situation at home is such that, whenever the bigger fishes are bought, it always comes with an extra head πŸ™‚ It is a treat to see them relish their fish heads.. I would say I am a master at eating the chicken and the duck, but they are experts in eating the fish..

Now, when I say I love my meats more it does not mean that I do not eat fish at all. It means if given a choice, I’ll choose meat over fish. In such a scenario my relishing fish becomes a cause of a mini celebration at meal times at home…Β  when I look up from my plate during such a hearty meal, I can see my folks looking at me with that gleam in their eyes, a joke in the offing at my expense.. and then laughter erupts.. and the chatty meal times continues.. the other times when I order a fish dish outside home, I always make a standard comment to my fellow meal companions that my parents would faint if they see my choice for food for that meal πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Given this background of my fish eating and love it is ironical that one of my favourite passtimes is visiting the local fish markets. I love the finesse with which the folks in the market cut and clean the fish. The market back home opens in the morning at 6. The place is swarmed with customers carrying their number of smaller plastic bags in their big market bag, small and big sellers, the main line of fish shops with their people in rubber overalls, gum boots…. all participating in the early morning auction. In the market here in Bombay, it was a pair of women selling fish. They ran the main shops in the market..Β  I loved their sharp knives and how the flesh of the fish gave way in one single strike…

@MJ’s Kitchen | Surmai in Hindi/Marathi, Neymeen in Malayalam, Seer Fish in English. The fish was prepared in kerala style, the yellow curry, as we call it in a coconut milk gravy πŸ™‚

@the collage in the featured picture of this post is from the prep for the fish dish from one of the days.

 

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

8 thoughts on “Smells Fishy”

  1. Reblogged this on Between Breaks …. and commented:

    Given this background of my fish eating and love it is ironical that one of my favourite passtimes is visiting the local fish markets. I love the finesse with which the folks in the market cut and clean the fish. The market back home opens in the morning at 6. The place is swarmed with customers carrying their number of smaller plastic bags in their big market bag, small and big sellers, the main line of fish shops with their people in rubber overalls, gum boots…. all participating in the early morning auction. In the market here in Bombay, it was a pair of women selling fish. They ran the main shops in the market.. I loved their sharp knives and how the flesh of the fish gave way in one single strike…

    Like

Your turn..

