Food Tales: Midnight Snacking..

If it was Samosa for you Ritu.. In my case, it was the uttapams..

I was hungry, I was so hungry I couldn’t sit in my room and concentrate on my article or go to sleep. It was striking twelve somewhere.. I get up from my bed, slowly make my way to the hostel canteen three floors down. A hostel mate I did not know was getting her plate of Uttapam.. I was hungry but I was also clueless as to what to order!

So, I asked her how it is.. she in turn gave me a lecture on how Uttapams are the best things to eat at night, especially while working, and when hunger strikes after a bout of intellectual labour!..  I don’t know about intellectual labour, but I sure knew I was hungry! listening to her, I ordered two, touching my tummy.. it was pounding there of hunger! I could hear it say, uttapams it is!

It took the canteenwala about half an hour to give me my order, but to my horror two uttapams looked like a stack of 5 american pancakes one on top of the other minus the maple syrup.. He had cut an uttapam into four pieces.. two such cuttings made eight. Eight arcs of uttapam piled on top of the other with coconut chutney flowing down!!! My heart skipped 2 beats.. My tummy growled at the sight… the hunger of half an hour ago had vanished.. and my hands in turn felt the pressure as they were left with a plate of two uttapams, 8 arcs of it at 1 in the morning!!!!!

Wiki knowledge: Uttapam or ooththappam or Uthappa is a dosa-like dish made by cooking ingredients in a batter. Unlike a dosa, which is crisp andcrepe-like, uttapam is a thick pancake, with toppings cooked right into the batter. Uttapam is sometimes characterized as an Indian pizza.

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

6 thoughts on “Food Tales: Midnight Snacking..”

Your turn..

