Dil Dhadakne Do (2015) Zoya Akhtar | Anil Kapoor, Shefali Shah, Priyanka Chopra & Ranvir Singh

The film lays out the story of a family, a father, a mother, a daughter and a son. Dysfunctional is the word the trailers and promos use for the Mehras of Delhi headed by a cast of Anil Kapoor as the father, Shefali Shah as the mother, Priyanka Chopra as the daughter and Ranvir Singh as the son. There is no word that describes them more than this, but all in all I hope you get the picture.

A father who worked hard to make a mark in society with his company Ayka, named after his daughter AYesha and son KAbir, a logo that reminds the audience of the logo of Dell, perhaps… Upstarts would be another suitable word to describe the Mehras, the first generation of sooper rich in their clan who grow up to be a name in the Delhi circles. However, while they grew richer, they grew apart and became strangers to each other. The father with his many women friends, partying in different countries on the pretext of work, a mother who pretends to be happy knowing the truth of her husband’s unfaithful ways and in the midst of such public display of affection between non loving parents, the children bond and grow to become the support for each other.

What the film truly holds up to in the mirror, is the relationship shared by the siblings, played by Priyanka and Ranvir. I could connect because that is the kind of bond I share with my brother. The open talks, the fights, I’ll cover your back always, and the unconditional love that passes between them makes the film watchable. Farhan Aktar does a cameo, walks in later in the film.. who is loved by the dog and the siblings and all the genuine and earnest people on the cruise.

Oh! I forgot the essential detail. The Mehras are celebrating their 30th wedding anniversary, according to some calendar it would be called the Pearl. For the occasion, they have invited their closest of friends, who often are found bitching about them and each other for a cruise to Greece and Turkey. Now, Turkey is a country that makes me go weak in my knees.. one place I loved being and love exploring.. and have very fond memories of with regard to food, people, monuments, the mingling of many histories and more than anything awe! May be I will settle in Turkey or at least go on a long vacation to that country to immerse myself in its beauty (I’m not considering the bad parts such as the traffic, for instance, so stay with me in my dream).

I’m sure filming would have been fun, roughly about 35 people on board, but the fun did not step out of the screen to the audience such a me and my group of friends. For most of the first half I wondered why the film had no intermission.

The highlight according to me, Ranvir Singh. He had an expression for every occasion and it hit the target every single time. He I would say is the star of the film. This is one film where I loved to watch Ranvir on screen.. and he is the one who tries to bring it all together in the script, puts the film to an end, ties all the loose ends .. melodrama for a change is headed by others.. !

It is not a bad film, but not the one I enjoyed in the theatre. As always, there are moments, which I loved … and the little girl with a specs with a butterfly frame is given ‘some’ lines .. 🙂 D

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

2 thoughts on “Dil Dhadakne Do (2015) Zoya Akhtar | Anil Kapoor, Shefali Shah, Priyanka Chopra & Ranvir Singh”

  1. Full movie form il aano??? Yet to watch the movie but to be honest I am not sure if I will watch it or not.. But liked the song galla goodiyan. peppy number.. Saw picket 43??

    Like

    1. Seems like a full movie form.. well all I can say is when writing happens it just happens.. the flow is unstoppable 🙂 Haven’t watched Picket 43, heard it is well done.. will watch, did you?

      Like

Your turn..

