Monday Musings on a Tuesday :)

Ever since I saw this meme at Smitha’s I wanted to take it up, but then I saw it again after I posted for the day, yesterday.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:
1. I’m currently reading…
2. Up next I think I’ll read…
3. I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
4. I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
5. I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
6. I can’t wait to get a copy of…
7. I wish I could read ___, but…
8. I blogged about ____ this past week…

I bought this book Letters from a Father to His Daughter last week.

It is a compilation of 30 letters Nehru wrote to his 10 year old daughter, Indira during 1928 while he was in Allahabad and she was in Missouri.

30 letters.

The first letter is on nature, the teacher. There is an order to the letters.. each letter, a few pages long extends a logic of evolution of the earth, man, and finally he ends with a group of letters where he introduces the evolution of Indian people and explains his view of how the mixture we are came about.

A letter each on how evolution took place, about the first living things, the plants, the animals, man, and how grouped himself into tribes.. tribes to civilization.. the role of agriculture.. the role of language.. the dravidians, the aryans and the sea voyages that brought the aryans to India.

The publishers haven’t taken out the little fatherly gestures he showed towards his daughter during their publication.

It reminded me of the letters my mother used to write to me when I was in hostel, on varying topics that interested her and she thought would interest me beginning with the current affairs at home to the books she read and her point of view on certain trending topics…

Hand written letters have an investment of its own.. we bring to it a part of us… in the choice of paper, the colour of the ink, the way we divide the paper into where we want to write and where we want to add other tid bits…. it may have our scent .. our tears, sweat, perfume, lip balm.. our moisturizer… because of our close association with it during the period we write it… and then most important, the time, we spent with it, to sit down, think and write it out.. it makes the person it is addressed to special..

The featured picture of the earring with the handmade note is from koyri.com, a friend’s hobby turned business

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

14 thoughts on “Monday Musings on a Tuesday :)”

  1. Hmmm… the time spent and all that stand true for emails as well.
    But yes, the personal touch of a hand-written letter is something else, entirely. Unfortunately, there are some like me, who are forced into the email route, simply because we know that our handwritten letters become barely readable even by ourselves a few days later. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually there is no reason to discriminate between the two… email are letters in a different medium.. but some nostalgic pull in the paper and the pen, could be because we started off with those writing instruments and not directly with the email. The blog is my personal space.. for that matter..! need to think about why the nostalgia.. can see at least a diary entry in the offing on this, if not a post with more that the regular tech debate.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved the earrings 🙂 Beautiful.
    I used to write so many letters to my friends, even had pen friends. But slowly that is becoming an alien concept 🙂

    Like

  3. Looks like your ear rings pic in the beginning is a big hit…its beautiful 🙂
    I love hand written letters – they touch a chord, its more personal than the typed words.
    Hope you cherish those letters which your mom wrote to you !

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

