That which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet … (hamlet)

When DJ says, “let’s go to Ammamma’s house,” in my mind I would be thinking of going to this place, let’s name it, K. However, he would be thinking of going to this place, L.

Confused? 😉

This occurs many a time between my dad and me because his Ammamma (grandmother) is my Valiya Ammamma (Great grandmother) in relation. Valiya = Great, Ammamma = Grandmother, Amma = Mother. So when he says, “let’s go to Ammamma’s house,”  he is referring to his grandmother’s house, his (mother’s mother). While I would be thinking of the house where my Ammamma (my dad’s mother) stays at K.

Now, technically, I should be calling her Achamma/appanma:P* (Achan/Appan meaning father in Malayalam + amma meaning mother, therefore, achan’s amma is Achamma or father’s mother ) or Daddyma* 😛 (because I call my father, Daddy, so his mother would be Daddy+Amma) 😛

If you were confused initially, and even more after the rest …  well let me tell you, the first confusion happens in real at our home for a split second and then things fall into place. The second one, however, I just made it up for effect 😛 😛

When DJ wants to go to my Ammamma’s (his mother’s) place he would say let’s go to Mummy’s as that’s the way he addresses her.

.

.

.

Once one of my second cousins dropped by home, and he said that he is heading to Ernakulam. I thought he was going to the city centre for some work because Ernakulam at any time is the name of a place.

To non residents of Kerala, mostly, the term spells confusion… I’ve been often asked where I stay back in Kerala. “Do you stay in Cochin or in Ernakualm?”  Geographically, I stay in the city known by both these names, but as a category marker as part of government jurisdiction I am part of the Municipal Corporation of Cochin in the District of Ernakulam  😛

Getting back to interpreting the cousin, what he actually meant was he was going to his Ammamma’s place which he refers to as Ernakulam. Do I have to explain who Ammamma is again 😛 (By now I’m sure you would have rote learnt it :P) His father, DJ’s first cousin, also came along and said, he was headed to Market Road. which is again one of the localities in the city.

What did he mean when he mentioned it, he meant he was heading to the house he grew up in. If we related to places with people who resided their, this father son duo related to places with their location.

I am building up to this.. this house in this picture given below.

The House
The House

Every description lead to this one house in the picture.. My Valiya Ammamma’s house, my dad’s Ammamma’s house, our cousin’s Ernakulam and his father’s Market Road refer to one and the same place. Since we have different associations with it, we refer to it differently. I’ve already given you 4 names the 4 of us have for it, there could be more … there are a lot more cousins who have been part of this house..

Well, this is the house my great grandfather bought from some Jewish merchants way back in the late nineteenth century… can you make a guess as to what I call him from all the words I have coined above…

It has been 75 years since he passed way. This milestone death anniversary was remembered over this weekend. The big family on the paternal side, grand children, great grand children, great great grand children, and great great great grand children, came together to relive their individual and collective memories related to the man and his house… the same house of the picture 😛 😛

“that which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet …”

I would say sweet yes, but the sweetness varies… for the rose is the same, but the memories associated with the rose are different 🙂 what say.. what are your associated memories and associations.. would love to hear…

 *appanma and daddyma are fictitious coinages for the sake of the post .. for the flow! I have not come across anybody who refer to their grandmothers that way.. but to each their own.. ValiyaMummy is a common way of referring to grandmothers, these days because of the popularity of term Mummy for mothers in these so many years.
Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

10 thoughts on “That which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet … (hamlet)”

      1. Ok.. I call my amma ki amma as ammama. But my other cousins also call her ammama. (it should be appamma). Lets leave this. My kiddo calls my amma as avva and my MIL also avva. See here I have influence from all languages.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Memories are such a wonderful thing
    There is no telling what it would bring
    For thoughts to fly it gives them wing
    And a song for the heart to sing.

    Thank you for bringing back memories of our visit to the tharavadu every vacation- cousins of all ages 🙂
    Incidently I had written about ” The Rose”. It was about something else.Check it out when you have the time. https://satmuse.wordpress.com/category/senses/

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Reblogged this on pins & ashes and commented:

    When DJ says, “let’s go to Ammamma’s house,” in my mind I would be thinking of going to this place, let’s name it, K. However, he would be thinking of going to this place, L.

    Confused?😉

    This occurs many a time between my dad and me because his Ammamma (grandmother) is my Valiya Ammamma (Great grandmother) in relation. Valiya = Great, Ammamma = Grandmother, Amma = Mother. So when he says, “let’s go to Ammamma’s house,” he is referring to his grandmother’s house, his (mother’s mother). While I would be thinking of the house where my Ammamma (my dad’s mother) stays at K.

    Now, technically, I should be calling her Achamma/appanma:P* (Achan/Appan meaning father in Malayalam + amma meaning mother, therefore, achan’s amma is Achamma or father’s mother ) or Daddyma*😛 (because I call my father, Daddy, so his mother would be Daddy+Amma)😛

    If you were confused initially, and even more after the rest … well let me tell you, the first confusion happens in real at our home for a split second and then things fall into place. The second one, however, I just made it up for effect😛😛

    When DJ wants to go to my Ammamma’s (his mother’s) place he would say let’s go to Mummy’s as that’s the way he addresses her.

    .

    .

    .

    Once one of my second cousins dropped by home, and he said that he is heading to Ernakulam. I thought he was going to the city centre for some work because Ernakulam at any time is the name of a place.

    To non residents of Kerala, mostly, the term spells confusion… I’ve been often asked where I stay back in Kerala. “Do you stay in Cochin or in Ernakualm?” Geographically, I stay in the city known by both these names, but as a category marker as part of government jurisdiction I am part of the Municipal Corporation of Cochin in the District of Ernakulam 😛

    Getting back to interpreting the cousin, what he actually meant was he was going to his Ammamma’s place which he refers to as Ernakulam. Do I have to explain who Ammamma is again😛 (By now I’m sure you would have rote learnt it :P) His father, DJ’s first cousin, also came along and said, he was headed to Market Road. which is again one of the localities in the city.

    What did he mean when he mentioned it, he meant he was heading to the house he grew up in. If we related to places with people who resided their, this father son duo related to places with their location.

    I am building up to this.. this house in this picture given below.

    The House
    The House
    Every description lead to this one house in the picture.. My Valiya Ammamma’s house, my dad’s Ammamma’s house, our cousin’s Ernakulam and his father’s Market Road refer to one and the same place. Since we have different associations with it, we refer to it differently. I’ve already given you 4 names the 4 of us have for it, there could be more … there are a lot more cousins who have been part of this house..

    Well, this is the house my great grandfather bought from some Jewish merchants way back in the late nineteenth century… can you make a guess as to what I call him from all the words I have coined above…

    It has been 75 years since he passed way. This milestone death anniversary was remembered over this weekend. The big family on the paternal side, grand children, great grand children, great great grand children, and great great great grand children, came together to relive their individual and collective memories related to the man and his house… the same house of the picture😛😛

    “that which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet …”

    I would say sweet yes, but the sweetness varies… for the rose is the same, but the memories associated with the rose are different:) what say.. what are your associated memories and associations.. would love to hear…

    Like

Your turn..

