When all the world stands still.. even the bath

There are some rare days when work just happens. I’ll sit in my chair and work meticulously on the laptop placed on the table, a table beside the window which looks out to these different kinds of trees.


On such a day, I wouldn’t have bathed since morning. Brushed yes because I cannot gulp down water without brushing my teeth the first thing in the morning. In turn, the toothpaste wakes me up and there begins my day. When work goes on and on, the shower then becomes that break and a source of renewed motivation.

And it would be on those days that I would not care whether I smell or stink of sweat because the work is that good, it is consistent and finally I would be able to demonstrate my arguments in words, which I would visualize my supervisor nodding to in the affirmative. Writing is a tough job in general, add academically writing to earn a degree, that makes it a notch or two tougher. A few years ago, I did not even know that such a kind of writing existed! uffo!

Today is one of those days. I was at this table by the laptop next to the window in my room when the Flipkart folks called. Sunday! They deliver, yes. The book I ordered had come. It was due on the coming Friday. Efficient. hmm! Reluctantly I got up from my chair and just went down like that in the same set of clothes. On my way down I met a few friends who received similar calls from Flipkart, together we walked to that Omni parked outside the hostel gate.

And then, to all of our surprise, the friends who were together just stood two feet apart from each other. All of us were in the middle of writing today until then for a submission tomorrow, and none of us had taken that much needed bath 😛 😛 😛 A nod was all it took to gesture that.

Poor flipkart men.. they should know how research scholars work during their most hectic days 😀 Now does this image of the girls/woman invert the popular stereotype. I wonder 😛 😀

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

16 thoughts on “When all the world stands still.. even the bath”

  1. Haha! Those days when I try to put off bathing and just site-hopping on the Internet – mostly between FB (for a little while) and Quora (for hours on end) – still exist… for us guys, it is the lazing off days. Days we have to work – we usually take a bath and THEN get down to work. Else, we can’t even get our minds to concentrate fully… 😛

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, so far as I know, it is. But also, I know not enough girls whom I can simply approach and ask, “Hey, have you bathed today before sittting down to work?”, “Do you bathe those days when you aren’t working?”, and such.

        Obviously when we come out to meet, especially someone of the opposite gender (no matter how close a friend), all of us do freshen up enough to give an impression of having bathed sometime during the day, don’t we all? 😀

        Like

              1. Well, they were about 4-5 “line” as I see them on screen. 😛 If you meant “sentences” (which are different from “lines”, btw), I admit I made a mistake in the first para: I should have used a colon after “ask” instead of the comma. That makes the first para itself comprise 4 sentences.

                Also, bodies of written text are separated into paragraphs to better indicate separation of points being made in each of them, not just depending on the length of the text covered so far. I thought someone who has a degree in English – and doing a PhD in English Lit, no less! – should know that. I am constantly being proved wrong on that count in your case, am I not? 😛

                Liked by 1 person

                  1. No thanks! I am done with all the academic work I can do in one lifetime! Another friend of mine was suggesting that I do an MBA now, and I said the same thing as above. If I left what could be a better-paying 2-yr degree/diploma, do you really think I’d come to a time-unknown PhD?!?!

                    Like

Your turn..

