Memories..

My paternal grandmother died 13 years ago around 3 o clock in the afternoon on a March 25. She was 85.

This is the 13th year in a row I miss a particular phone call early in the morning of a particular day. She used to call to wish me (wish us, all of us grandchildren would agree) a happy birthday before I/we ย ran to catch the school bus.

More than this day, the 17th of November evokes fonder memories. Her birthday… it was one big celebration .. a memory from my earliest years.. You can say, as a family, most of us do not need a really big reason to celebrate…

Do I miss her.. I don’t know.. how close was I to her, I’m not sure.. but there are some feelings ย that exist which words cannot express.

the family folklore: She had navy blue eyes.. and long hair; there are lores about how my grandfather fell for her eyes and the hair.. ๐Ÿ˜›

181422_205826486207767_944281922_n
On her wedding day . ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Linking to Hugh’s Weekly Challenge for Vintage

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

10 thoughts on “Memories..”

    1. Thanks Corinne… the picture is all courtesy a cousin of mine, she has clicked all the pictures from the photo room, and uploaded them online.. makes it easier for preservation..

      I know, classic it is.. and it is 1930s..

      Like

    1. There is this uncanny feeling about who we all resemble. The uncanny-ness is caused because people from different sides of the family, the paternal and the maternal… recognize a set of us or just us individually as belonging to their side of the family..wtith a remark..”oh! you look like so and so.., so you should be from this family..” Appuse… I would love to believe I have my mother’s eyes (minus the colour).. the rest can all be from my dad’s side ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  1. I adored my Grandmother. As her first Grandchild, I think she spoilt me a little more. She passed away 21-years ago and would have celebrated her 100th birthday last year. There’s not a day that goes by without me thinking about her and all the fond memories that come with that.
    It’s a lovely Wedding photo. Your Grandfather looks a very tall man.
    Thank you for sharing your story of your memories of your Grandmother as part of my weekly photo challenge.
    Best wishes,
    Hugh

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn..

