Accidental Find – Igatpuri, Kasara – It’s good to be late once in a while :P

So my train was nearly 11 hours late on Tuesday morning. And I’m thinking of sending a thank you card to the Indian Railways. For I passed two exquisitely, exotically beautiful places on my way to Bby – Igatpuri and Kasara. Both lie between Nasik and Bby. May be we should backpack to Igatpuri and Kasara this weekend, Pinnooo  😀 😀 😛 is something I have been thinking about for quite some time

Igatpuri

I wonder whether Liz Gilbert travelled to Igatpuri to meditate in India. It seems there is some kind of Maun Meditation practice I plan to send myself to this Buddhist Pagoda to spend 10 days there, so that I will come back reformed, enlightened 😛 (without a tongue or a voice, may be!!) wonder what he has in his mind!! I would go insane if I can’t talk for even a minute 😛

Somebody has been to Igatpuri and written a travelogue. Go check out Travelling Boots.

Kasara Ghat

Kasara Ghat, ghat meaning a mountain pass…. the place has beautifully shaped (or eroded?) by nature, such that I thought it was manmade, one of the many Shivaji forts up there. And you would love the misty feeling. Oh! yes, the trains goes through the Pass.

Got some pictures of the Kasara Ghat from the web. Check them out at Fotopedia.

Any of you been to these places before… post pictures and travelogues please… I want to go, I want to go… Want to go sooooooooooon….

Copyright information: The two pictures are respectively taken from the sites mentioned. The Scribbling is my work 😛

Click on the pictures to read the font clearly or see the shapes clearly 😛

Published by

pinnish!

An Aquarius Woman

42 thoughts on “Accidental Find – Igatpuri, Kasara – It’s good to be late once in a while :P”

  1. WOW !!! Beautiful, picturesque places…I am loving these pics too….Ash, pl take me with you, when u go…I also need some enlightment 😉 😉 10 days of peace and meditation – I would love that. 🙂

    I love the shapely hills… 😉 😉

    Like

  2. Very nice place. Breath taking. Thanks for sharing with us. So you put to good use of the 11 hour delay. That is what they call “if you got a lemon make a lemonade”.

    Like

      1. Please check Kalsubai Peak!!! Its known as highest peak in Maharashtra…. U will fall in love of that place too!!!!

        Like

    1. Mesmerised absolutely true, Renu… I’ve travelled in this train at least 4 times before but always during the night… it was a revelation and I truly enjoyed the experience… 🙂

      Like

  3. Done Done …. was planning Nasik .. now its Igatpuri nest weekend 🙂 .. thanks Pinnu .. and yes if u are baxck in Bbay.. kindly bless this poor soul whom u have been ignoring big time grrrrrr

    Like

  4. Wow! That’s some place! It’s funny how some places which you have never heard about turn out so beautiful! 🙂
    Annavaram in Andhra Pradesh is also like that!
    PS: This post didn’t show up in my Reader! And neither did the previous! 😦

    Like

      1. Dear Google Reader,

        Why you ignoring my posts. Is it because I don’t use you! That’s so utilitarian of you! Kindly show my posts to my readers.

        Thanking you
        PNA

        Like

    1. Deeps, you’ve been to Igatpuri 😮 😮 Really!! jjjjjjjjjjjjjj
      Mail the pics, those falls sound so attractive…
      btw what’s up in B land?

      welcome to PNA 🙂

      Like

Your turn..

