Is My Dormant Y leading me Astray :P

I’m Proud to be a SAGS,

So here’s a tag – Please list at least ten things you have ever wanted or done which your gender is not supposed to.

The tag is called ‘My Sins against Gender-Stereotypes’. And you must tag twelve blogging friends :twisted: or else you will be cursed to wear blue clothes pants if you are a woman and pink shirts if you are a man – for next twelve years :twisted:

And the best part, Suranga has come up with a lovely badge too

From IHM, to Ritu, and Uma, it’s spreading …..  because of that activity of that dormant Y (XY)…my poor X (XX) duo needs to pull up their socks and try for admission in some finishing school 😀 😛

Because of you Y…. (what all do you make me do)…

  • I make excellent Maggi, Knorr soup and more maggi n soup for breakfast, lunch and dinner and snacks 😛 … A Maggie a meal, keeps the hunger pangs far-far away 😀
  • I climbed those trees, slept in the fields, rolled in clay and came back all muddy and clothes all astray
  • I call people by their first names; publically & privately. The XXs are trying to learn to say ‘oh sunthe hoooooooo ji’ for the spouse, thai for didi, dada for Bhai, … 😛
  • you the dormant Y, I leap up when I meet strangers (read elder/younger/peer men and a few older women), shake hands & talk to them in the living room [can u beat that, X frowns :!:], sit with them for meals (gobbling up hot rotis and sabzi) when the X duo insists I join in the gossip sessions, come running at their beck & call or starve until 1 am when they are done!

  • My eyes hurt – looking at people in the eye while talking to them, (X1 orders me to look down admire my feet), my tongue numbs vociferously stating my case with thumps on the table (Oh! My poor fists, they are so red and X2 says good for you!!)
  • I walk ungracefully, so unladylike (walk like a woman they said) …  top speed without a care for the co-walker… forewarned 100 times before my bridal march not to leave the spouse behind 😀 😀
  • I Scream, I guffaw at the top of my voice, my Jim Reeves baritone :P…… when happy or angry and never drop a tear when I’m sad and down…. (Y, I’m bloating up due to water & salt retention in the body… I want to cry!! help me!! Go away, Y!!)
  • I’m the family goon, KD PNA they call me…I’m summoned when somebody needs a nice hearing or beating, needs a kicking or a fighting  😈  👿
  • Riding pillion on a bike… how many times the X1 n X2 ordered me to sit to one side, clutching that waist tight…with gloved hands and a covered head, sun screened face n Kajal drawn eyes, and dangling earrings, neck deep in 10 chains of gold n anklets ….
  • I drive at high speed whenever handling the steering wheel of cars and handles of bicycles, racing and crashing into walls & fences; bruising every part of the body, bandaged so badly that DJ once thought I would fetch a good amount of coins and notes if seated in front of a temple or church 😛 😛

I was never the daughter of the house, I was known as their child, their offspring… so I never knew for a long time that girls and boys had separate lives, separate lifestyles, separate games, separate minds…

On my third birthday DJ & MJ gifted me a puppy, she grew up to be a Black Beauty… dogs are a male thing!! I guess my parents were ignorant too 😛 😀 😀 😛

Edited to Add

Having said all that and more, I’m Crazy about them – chocolates and teddy bears, crazy about my Mushi, my stuffed polar bear :P, there are days when I wear 24 matching bangles on each hand to go with the dress I’m wearing 😀 😀 🙄 , I’ve lost count on the number of footwear and bags I possess, (need a whole new shoe rack just for my display) :P, I love to cook :), bake 🙂 and grill :), looking up new recipes and watching cookery shows is a daily routine and I’m a very hospitable host 🙂 🙂 I can remember dates and the time to the T, my colour vocab extends more than black, blue, red, yellow and green, super animated and expressive, always hugging and wanting to be hugged, loves to be pampered and be in my Pink, after all what do you think the ‘P’ in PnA stands for 😀 😀 😛 😛

And the Dormant Y and XX duo do all these automatically, there is no thought about emulating anybody here, it’s all about comfort, nature and rearing 🙂 🙂

I love my blue pants that I sleep, eat, wake and wash in them, would love to be in it for a lifetime to come 😀 😀  But I would love to know ur astray Y tales 😀 😀

Tagging 12: Piyu, Varsh, Live on Impulse, Sulagna, DI, Bikram, SG, Govind, The Coffee Cup, Nutti, Harini, Nazish and tagging all who read, so that I get to wear those blue clothes pants more often 😛 😛

Published by

pins & ashes

An Aquarius Woman

79 thoughts on “Is My Dormant Y leading me Astray :P”

        1. Thank you IHM 🙂

          But it took a while, some serious thinking to differentiate between the stereotype and the differences.. 😛

          Like

  1. My eyes hurt – looking at people in the eye while talking to them, (X1 orders me to look down admire my feet), my tongue numbs vociferously stating my case with thumps on the table (Oh! My poor fists, they are so red and X2 says good for you!!)

    Proud of you and the eyes might hurt from all that smoke that you invite from burning hearts at the sight of Don KD PNA guffawing and never shedding a graceful tear to soothe them burning hearts 🙂

    I was never the daughter of the house, I was known as their child, their offspring… so I never knew for a long time that girls and boys had separate lives, separate lifestyles, separate games, separate minds Beautiful lines PnA!! So many kids never are allowed to be children, they are made to become boys or girls 😦

    Like

    1. Poor kids, fed all the bias from the day they are out of the womb into this world.. Ahaaa !!
      The biased socialization does a lot of harm and goes a long way!!

      Like

    1. Credit to my Bro, the Kiddo… He used to hold my hand and literally drag me at super fast speed, a distance covered in 15 minutes covered in 5 during school morning 😛

      Like

  2. Loved the way you have done the tag, PnA!!

    I especially loved -‘I was never the daughter of the house, I was known as their child, their offspring… so I never knew for a long time that girls and boys had separate lives, separate lifestyles, separate games, separate minds…’ – Just loved this! It was the same at home for me 🙂 It was much later that I realized how rare that was!

    Like

    1. Same here Smiths, it is a lot later I realised the worth of than kind of rearing 🙂 And you know what, I never used to understand certain intricacies related with these issues when at college, it was weird 😛
      Salute to our parents for everything 🙂

      Like

      1. Even now, u can see me with a dumb or a quizzical expression when I hear some new found nonsense like that 😛

        Like

  3. I love the dormant Y in you, always taking precedence over the Duo XX !!! LOL !!!! 🙂
    Sly Y don’t u think 😛

    My God, I just loved reading this all and you’ve done it fantastic !!! 🙂
    Thank you Umss 🙂

    Those battering eyelids asking u to admire your feet instead of looking staraight in the eye, those thumping fists, those un-ladylike walks, those rolling in the mud and clay, that screaming you – I love them all !!! You are fab !!!

    And I love your parents who thought of the child and not as a daughter !!! WOW !!! 🙂

    See the ppl doing this tag – so much similarities among us – thats why we got together in this blogoworld !!! Thats why the rapport is great !!! 🙂

    Now we got the connecting link… bichade huye at some fair and together courtesy blogs and IHM too 😛 😀

    Special hugs from the XY in me to XY in you !!! 😉
    Special hugs from the XY in me to the XY in you too Ums

    Like

  4. Hi PNA loved reading this tag and really liked the fact that your parents were sensitive enough to bring you up in a gender neutral set up ( you were their child/ offspring not daughter).. You’re one heck of a spirited girl for climbing tress,looking people in the eye and laughing and guffawing as you please ..Delightful read !! and thank you for tagging me I’ll like to give it a go

    Like

    1. Thank you 😀 😀
      Take ur time to remember your sins… I bet there should be more than 10, I had to restrict myself to 10 once the writing started 😛

      Like

  5. Nicely done tag! glad to meet your dormant Y side 🙂
    Can so identify with this… ‘I never knew for a long time that girls and boys had separate lives, separate lifestyles, separate games, separate minds’. Lovely!

    Like

    1. 🙂 Truth for many us indeeed.. hope it becomes true for a whole generation, fingers crossed
      Thank you for the pingback Priya 🙂

      Like

  6. Dear Ash:

    Everyone has a little bit of this and that. But not many admit it. I enjoyed reading this for many reasons: Defying stereotypes, humour, acceptance of roles and opening the cluttered thoughts.

    I also have many such traits which sometimes are too personal to put down but I enjoyed thinks of those traits within me and reveling in them.

    A lovely July ahead dear Ash 🙂

    Joy and smiles,
    Susan

    Like

    1. You know what, students of the arts stream learn a lot more about those stereotypes while learning theory.. .. and that’s when the realisation strikes how lucky we are, that what we naturally do is defying a set cultural pattern. Some are too personal to put down and some are so neutral to write about them, that I feeel why people are not growing up…

      for instance, using a phone or computer is a necessity these days, man or woman, if you own one, you shd know how to fix, open, plug it so why the fuss… why are they still in the realm of things only men do amazes me !!

      Enjoy your July and hope you finish your target on time

      hugs and more hugs
      Ash

      Like

  7. KD PNA – Ha ha ha .. that ws coool Pinoo 🙂

    Loved this ‘I was never the daughter of the house, I was known as their child, their offspring’ 🙂 🙂

    Like

  8. Wow..that was innovative. Loved the cartoon and the way you wrote it…
    liked this line the most:my tongue numbs vociferously stating my case with thumps on the table (Oh! My poor fists, they are so red and X2 says good for you!!)
    haha..wish I could see these scenes!

    Like

    1. 😆 😆 wishing to see those scenes enacted… 😛

      Such a apt pic, whoever created that, great imagination 🙂

      Like

  9. Loved it, loved it Pinoo! Such a nice tag, and so beautifully done! 🙂
    It’s going to take me a while to think of what I should put up in my blog, though I do have a decent number of options in this regard 😉

    Like

  10. Loved the way you did this tag,Ash! Very innovative!
    Thank you Deeps 😀 😀 beam beam beam 😀

    “My eyes hurt – looking at people in the eye while talking to them, (X1 orders me to look down admire my feet),” LOL!! You know, during my wedding I was constantly being poked by my maamis and chaachis to look down and stop smiling while walking to the mandapam. I dont know why but I just couldnt get myself to act like shy bride that I was expected to…I was smiling and looking straight with my head held high, as though I was going for some battle ..cant stop laughing even now thinking about it 🙂

    Enjoyed this read thoroughly 🙂

    Like

    1. Deeps,

      My wedding was no different. I was applauded as the most tension free bride in the history of family and among friends 😛 Not shy, no looking down, I walked up the aisle in quick steps was asked to slow down, I had to go along with the music u see 😀 😀 Smiling through the sermon 🙂 jokes are cracked to laugh hain na 🙂

      Like

  11. U wont belive.. full time.. I had this constant image of a small boy infront of my eyes who is rolling, shouting, smashing and getting muddy and dirty but still playing… when I was reading ur tag :)) do u still agree u hv a dormant Y????? hehehe..

    btw.. thanks for the comment.. yes the painting is by me 🙂 I wish to do more.. lets see when 😀

    Like

    1. 😀 😀 😀
      That’s exactly how it was and it is 🙂 😀

      I know, On my way to see a Doc 😛

      That painting is one a kind, reminded me of the Wake up Sid, the movie, Konkana’s wall had a similar bird couple made of paper 🙂 Do more, and upload..

      Welcome to PNA and hope to cya around soon Vineeta 🙂

      Like

          1. Thank you Piyu..
            Heee… there is a post waiting for you, actually quite a few on different blog.. hop now, will hop onto yours soon 😀

            Like

  12. I never really understood about X and Y
    but there were things I couldn’t do I don’t know why
    In life there were rules that would always apply
    and all that I can do is sit and sigh.

    Like

    1. Missed ur 4 liners, it’s been so long u’ve stepped in here Govind! … and I’m waiting for the list… Sit and sigh at Rules .. What are rules for anyway 😛

      Like

  13. Liked the way you did this tag…enjoyed reading..I dont believe in this gender bias, but then I havent done anything extraoridnaire:)

    Like

    1. Renu, Until this tag and those people I met in my lifetime, I never knew I did anything extra ordinary too 😀 😀

      Like

  14. oho..just when i was tucked in bed with soup and crocin i had such awesome tags to do..still a little unwell but all your maggi making and walking like a lady thing(see we have so much in common) will make me write the post soon..pukka ji, pukka

    and black beauty 🙂 🙂 i love

    Like

    1. Tk, Sulgana.. kya hua… tk, rest well and do the tag… It’s fun, u’ll have energy oozing thru u, I bet 😛

      Pukka, good girl 🙂

      Like

  15. You gave poor blogspot dhoka & moved to wordpress.. Sigh.

    Very funny imagining you racing ahead during your bridal march 😀 Heehee.. I love that cartoon strip too.

    Like

  16. Hehe 🙂 Glad to see that even you are a sinner pinoo 🙂 And thanks for the tip.. I joined the FB group and picked the sinner badge too.
    “I walk ungracefully, so unladylike…. ” me too me too..
    Lol@family goon :)) That was a nice list.

    Like

  17. Super Duper list of sins Pinash :-))))) Loved it!!! Btw my mum used to call me ‘gun-throat’ 🙂 for my being so vocal.. er.. vociferous!!

    Like

  18. “I was never the daughter of the house, I was known as their child, their offspring… so I never knew for a long time that girls and boys had separate lives, separate lifestyles, separate games, separate minds ”
    Lovely and Kudos to your parents!! LOL @ the cartoon.

    Like

    1. I guess, Upperwalla forgot to tighten certain screws in us.. proves that all these notions came out of man’s brains..!!!!
      Welcome to PNA @ WordPress Nivi
      Exams over?

      Like

Your turn..

